Databases

more information icon Click for more information about a database.


Academic OneFile
Indexes and abstracts articles on subjects such as agriculture, anthropology, arts, business, communications, economics, law, political science, psychology, religion, general sciences, and current events. Includes many full text articles or links to full text; via InfoTrac; 1980 - present. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
Accessible Archives
A collection of primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals, including African American newspapers, Civil War era newspapers, and state histories up to 1900 for MidAtlantic, New England and Southeastern US states. 
ACM Portal (Association for Computing Machinery)
Includes the ACM Digital Library and the ACM Guide to Computing Literature. Indexes core works in computing, including journals, proceedings, books, technical reports, and dissertations.
Alt-Press Watch
Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses; publication dates vary from the 1970's - present.
Aluka
An online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa including a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides.
America: History and Life
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, book reviews and dissertations on American and Canadian history and culture (for world history, use Historical Abstracts); 1964 - present. 
American Periodicals Series Online
APS Online features over 1,600 periodicals ... from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal. Dates of coverage varies; 1740-1940.
Année Philologique
Indexes journal articles, essays and conference proceedings in the field of classical studies. International coverage; 1924 - present.

Anthropological Literature
Indexes journal articles and essays in the fields of anthropology and archaeology. International coverage. Based on the collections of Harvard's Tozzer Library; 1984 - present.
AnthroSource
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public, with current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications including American AnthropologistAmerican Ethnologist, and Cultural Anthropology
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes material in the fields of art, art history, architecture, design, and film, including articles in periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, and reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed journals; 1984 - present. Includes over 320 full text journals. For coverage of art literature from 1929 to 1984, search Art Index Retrospective.
Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes material in the fields of art, art history, architecture, design, and film. Includes citations for journal articles, yearbooks, museum bulletins, and reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed journals; 1929 - 1984. For coverage of art literature from 1984 to the present, search Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson).
ARTFL
Full text database of nearly 2,000 works in French, ranging from classic literature to non-fiction and technical writing. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy, from medieval times onward. 
ARTstor
Searchable database of over 1 million digital images and associated catalog data. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, and download images. More information at Finding Images.
Astrophysics Data System
Includes several sets of abstracts: 1) astronomy and astrophysics; 2) instrumentation; 3) physics and geophysics; and 4) Los Alamos preprint server-- funded by NASA; 1975 - present.
ATLA Religion Database
Indexes scholarship of religion, including Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. From the American Theological Association; 1949 - present. 
Berg Fashion Library
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of content collections, including the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, e-books, e-journals, museum directory, reference works, images, and more. Browsable by time period (1600 to date) and by place.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Indexes and abstracts publications in the history of art, covering current literature of European art from Late Antiquity to the present and American art from the European discoveries to the present. International coverage; 1990 - present. As of April 1, 2010, the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) will be available free of charge on the Getty Web site. The database includes both BHA (covering 1990-2007) and the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA), one of the predecessors of BHA, with records that cover 1975–1989.
Biography in Context
Biographies from several reference sources, including Marquis Who's Who, with related full text articles, images and links to hand-picked web sites. Searchable by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text, via InfoTrac. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
Biological Sciences
Indexes and abstracts a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, and ecology, some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Formerly known as: CSA Biological Sciences; 1946 - present.
BioOne
Full text access to over 190 scholarly journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Subscription includes BioOne and BioOne.2.
Birds of North America Online
The electronic version of the 18 volume Birds of North America completed in 2002. Provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. Account contents are updated frequently, and include image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and recordings of that bird's songs and calls. Produced by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology.
Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides review excerpts and over 100,000 full text reviews. Use Book Review Digest Retrospective for pre-1983 coverage, or search the 2 databases together; 1983 - present.
Book Review Digest Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. For works published after 1982, use Book Review Digest Plus, or search the 2 databases together; 1905 - 1982.
Boston Globe Online
1980+ indexing, plus full text articles. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
Britannica Online
Online equivalent of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. Also includes articles not included in the print edition, the Merriam-Webster Dictionarythe Britannica Book of the Year, and an editorially selected directory of links.
CGP (Catalog of U.S. Government Publications)
Indexes print and electronic publications of the U.S. government, the world's largest publisher. 1976 - present.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Indexes a wide range of scholarship in international affairs, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journal articles, and policy briefs. Much is in full text. Includes links to international affairs centers, institutes, environmental studies web pages, news media, and US, international, and foreign government sites.
CQ Global Researcher
CQ Global Researcher provides definitive, in-depth single-topic coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. Click on the CQP Electronic Library link to cross-search all CQ Press subscriptions. 2007 - present.
CQ Researcher Online
CQ Researcher contains in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy. Click on the CQP Electronic Library link to cross-search all CQ Press subscriptions. 1991 - present.. 
CQ Weekly
Contains an non-biased, objective, and comprehensive roundup of virtually all Capitol Hill activity each week; 1983 - present.
Credo Reference
An electronic collection of over 600 cross-searchable reference books in a wide variety of disciplines. A great starting point for general research that also leads you right to the catalog and other databases.
Dictionary of Old English Corpus
Full text database of 3,047 Old English texts.
EconLit
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, working papers, and dissertations in economics; a ProQuest database; 1969 - present.
Educator's Reference Complete
Full text periodicals, reports and reference sources for teachers and school administrators; via InfoTrac. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior
Provides comprehensive coverage of the usual topics in animal behavior, such as communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, and the history of the field, plus emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior.
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
The electronic version of the three-volume Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology.
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
Major themes include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
A fully searchable collection of articles by scientists and historians with emphasis on the workings of the mind and brain.
Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition
The electronic version of the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition provides a comprehensive coverage of the fields of food science, food technology, and nutrition.
Encyclopedia of Genetics
Provides the most complete and authoritative coverage of genetics ever published.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
A fully searchable collection of articles by scientists and historians in the life sciences.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
The electronic version of the Encyclopedia of Popular Music is a biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present, plus popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Cross-searchable with Oxford Music Online.
Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy
This electronic version of the Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy covers the major psychotherapies currently in practice as well as the classical approaches, identifies the scientific studies conducted on the efficacy of the therapies and reviews the theoretical basis of each therapy.
Encyclopedia of Research Design
The Encyclopedia of Research Design, edited by Neil J. Salkind, is a collection of entries written by scholars in the field of research design, the discipline of how to plan and conduct empirical research, including the use of both quantitative and qualitative methods.
Encyclopedia of Special Education
"A comprehensive resource for those working in the fields of special education research and practice. Featuring reviews of assessment instruments and teaching approaches, legal issues, overviews of specific learning disabilities, dozens of biographies, and more."
Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences
The concise entries in The Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences explore all areas of the discipline on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of neuroscience.
ERIC
Indexes documents and journal articles in the field of education. 1966 - present.

ERIC is also available on the open web through the US Department of Education (no sign-in needed for off-campus access).
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text database of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People. 1990 - present.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Based on the bibliography European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750 published in the 1980's by staff of the John Carter Brown Library, Brown University.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Indexes and abstracts journals and periodicals covering a wide variety of disciplines, from social science, humanities and politics to medicine, general interest and science; via InfoTrac; 1980 - present. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.


Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Site is hosted by Haverford College. 1990 - present.
Film Literature Index
Indexes journal articles about film, television and video, including reviews and book reviews; online coverage is 1976-2001, use print index for 2002-2004.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection
Includes over 8,000 streaming videos and 90,000 video clips from providers such as ABC Nightline, the BBC, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Ken Burns, National Geographic, PBS, and TED.

Subjects include anthropology, area studies, art and architecture, biological sciences and medicine, environmental science, business and economics, communication, computers and technology, education, english and world languages, geography, history, mathematics, music and dance, philosophy and religion, political science, psychology, and sociology and criminal justice. Create playlists, search for video segments, and organize videos into folders. From the Films Media Group.

You must have Adobe Flash Player 10 or higher installed to access audio and video resources. Click here for a tutorial. For more documentation and the Films on Demand Help Center, click here.

Mobile devices supported include the iPad, iPhone, and iPod Touch, Android devices if Flash is utilized for playback, and the KindleFire if users manually enable Flash before viewing on demand videos. 
Gale Databases
Use this link to access all cross-searchable Gale databases: Academic OneFile, General OneFile, Biography in Context, Criminal Justice Collection, Culinary Arts Collection, Educator's Reference Complete, Environmental Studies and Policy Collection, Expanded Academic ASAP, Gale Virtual Referecne Library, Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection, General Business File ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, Health Referecne Center Academic, Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection, Massachusetts History Online, Nursing and Allied Health Collection, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Physical Therapy and Sports medicine Collection, Science in Context, U.S. History in Context, Vocation and Careers Collection, and World History in Context.

Access to these databases is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC).  
Gale NewsVault [Cross-Search Illustrated London News, Times (London) & TLS]
Cross-search the Illustrated London News 1842-2003, the Times (London) 1785-1985, and the Times Literary Supplement (TLS) 1902-2009.  
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
The electronic version of Garland's Encyclopedia of World Music uses a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and complemented by an extensive index. Includes hundreds of audio examples. 
Gender Studies Database
Indexes gender-engaged scholarship from professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. 1972 - present. 
GenderWatch
Full text database of material related to gender issues, with emphasis on women's studies. Includes books, newsletters, reports, newspapers, magazines and scholarly journal articles; publication dates vary from the 1970's, 1980's, or 1990's - present.
General BusinessFile ASAP
Indexes and abstracts articles on business and management topics. Many articles are in full text; via InfoTrac; 1980 - present. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
General Reference Center Gold (Magazine Index)
Indexes and abstracts articles from general interest magazines, journals, reference books, and newspapers. Many articles are in full text; via InfoTrac; 1980 - present. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.



Google News Archive
2,400 digitized newspapers from around the world, in various languages. Date of coverage varies by title and holdings are often incomplete. NOTE: not all content is free and this site is no longer updated, but it is still worthwhile to use for historical newspapers that might not be available elsewhere.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

note: configure Library Links to see if your item is available through Wallace Library
GreenFILE
Indexes and abstracts journal articles relating to the human impact on the environment in such disciplines as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
An electronic resource based on the multi-volume encyclopedia internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations. A major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom with thorough articles that familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their taxonomy, life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. An excellent source for maps, illustrations and photographs.
Handbook of Adolescent Psychology
Covers the current knowledge and cutting edge philosophy regarding the transformative years of adolescent development.
Handbook of Social Psychology
The standard reference work in the field of social psychology, offering historical, integrative, and penetrating surveys of the topics that constitute the discipline. 
Health Reference Center Academic
Indexes and abstracts journal articles on health topics. Many articles are in full text; via InfoTrac; 1995 - present. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.



Historic Documents
Includes approximately one hundred primary source documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. Click on the CQP Electronic Library link to cross-search all CQ Press subscriptions. 1972 - present. 
Historical Abstracts
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (not including America, Canada, or pre-history; for America and Canada, use America: History and Life); 1955 - present. 
HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies)
Indexes and annotates scholarship on Latin America, including selected books and book chapters, journal articles, conference papers, and electronic resources. From the Library of Congress; 1935 - present.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes journals in the disciplines of archaeology and classical studies, art, folklore, history, language and literature, literary criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of datasets in the social sciences and related disciplines, such as sociology, demography, political science, criminal justice, foreign policy, law, economics, history, education, gerontology, and public health.  The archive provides raw numerical data that can be used with statistical software, such as SPSS. A Data Use Tutorial will give you a brief overview before you begin using the archive.

All Wheaton faculty, students, and staff have access to the extensive ICPSR data holdings. First time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account; thereafter, you will need to login with your email address and password to download data.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003
The complete contents of more than 150 years of social, political and cultural history published in the Illustrated London News. Areas covered include politics, social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, as well as genealogy.
Index Islamicus
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. From the School of Oriental and African Studies in London; 1906 - present.
Index of Christian Art
Indexes primarily Christian art from early apostolic times to approximately 1550 A.D. Includes many photographic reproductions.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
The online version of the 26-volume print set, contains 4,000 articles and is described as "..the largest corpus of knowledge about the social and behavioral sciences in existence..."
International Newsstand
Full text of 700 newspapers from around the world. Includes the BBC monitoring series. Dates of coverage varies.
IPA Source
International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
Indexes scholarly journal articles on the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400 - 1700 A.D.).
JSTOR
Full text backfiles of over 2,000 core scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes over 70 current titles, such as all University of Chicago Press journals. For all other titles, JSTOR does not contain the most recent 1-7 years of content. Many of these titles are continued in Project Muse or in the Library's print and/or electronic subscriptions. Use the yellow arrow, then the ArticleLinker button to link to content on an external site or check Journal Finder for complete holdings information.
JSTOR Global Plants
Provides access to botanical resources from over 270 herbaria, libraries, museums and other research institutions. The database includes 2,000,000 plant type specimens from herbaria around the world, scientific research articles and primary sources including photographs, correspondence and diaries, paintings, drawings,  plus full text books and reference works on botany.
LexisNexis Academic
Indexes and abstracts U.S. and foreign newspapers, journals, transcripts, federal and state case law, law reviews, state and country profiles, company information and more. Many documents are in full text; dates of coverage vary.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. 1960's - present. 
LION - see Literature Online


Literature Criticism Online
Includes criticism on authors and literary works from 3 Gale series: Contemporary Literary Criticism (writers now living or who died after December 31, 1999), Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (writers from 1900 to 1999), and Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (writers who died between 1800 and 1899).
Literature Online (LION)
A collection of indexes, bibliographies, and full text literary and reference databases. Primary texts include English and American poetry, English fiction, and English and American drama, ranging from 600 to the early 20th century. Secondary sources include MLA International BibliographyLIFT (a literary journal index with some full text), ABELL (the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature), the King James Bible, biographical information for over 1,000 of the most studied authors, and over 380 full text literary journals.
Literature Resource Center
Biographical information, overviews, full text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Includes the Gale series Contemporary Authors and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
London Review of Books
Essays and long reviews of books plus shorter art and film reviews. Includes political commentary and topics such as history, social anthropology, religion and science. Browseable by year, contributor, subjects, names, historical periods, article types, places and reviewed authors. 1979 - present.
MathSciNet
Indexes and abstracts journals, books, and proceedings in the mathematical sciences. Online version of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, both published by the American Mathematical Society; 1940 - present; updated daily.
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions
Provides a critical encyclopedic survey of the entire field of adverse drug reactions. The vast amount of data is comprised of articles about each drug, presented alphabetically.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Listing of journals and series in languages and literature.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore, including journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings; via ProQuest; 1926 - present.
Music Index (online)
Indexes material relevant to classical and popular music and musicology. Includes articles, book and record reviews, first performances, and obituaries; 1973 - present.

note: earlier coverage available in print edition
Nation, National Review, and New Republic Online Archives
Full text of the Nation 1865 to the present, the National Review 1955 to the present, and the New Republic 1914 to the present. Select the databases to search individually or together.
National Geographic Magazine Archive
High quality photojournalism, maps, and in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment. Includes the full text 1888-1994. 
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)
Summaries of more than 200,000 criminal justice publications including: federal, state, and local government reports; books; research reports; journal articles; unpublished research -- often with links to full text. The NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Contains over 1,500 articles and essays on topics in economics. An excellent source for overviews of complex topics, case studies, and as a starting point for further research.

New York Review of Books
Essays and reviews of books and the arts, including music, theater, dance, and film. Browseable by year or author; searchable by year, reviewed work, author or contributor.  1963 - present.
New York Times on the Web - current file
Current (1980+) file includes indexing plus full text articles, with limited images.
New York Times on the Web - historical file
Historical (1851-2009) file includes indexing and full text articles and full page images. Full text is not available for any articles affected by the Supreme Court ruling on the Tasini case (freelance writers and copyright). 
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
Full text of the 20 volumes of the OED, the 3 volume Additions Series, as well as at least 1,000 new and revised entries added quarterly. The OED is the leading authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millenium, providing information on the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words.
Oxford Art Online
Encyclopedic coverage of art, archaelogy, architecture, design and film. Electronic version of the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Grove Dictionary of Art, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a specific subject area. Includes guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works, etc., and links to useful websites. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a specific subject area. Includes guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works, etc., and links to useful websites. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a specific subject area. Includes guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works, etc., and links to useful websites. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Philosophy
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a specific subject area. Includes guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works, etc., and links to useful websites. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Renaissance and Reformation
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a specific subject area. Includes guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works, etc., and links to useful websites. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Oxford Classical Dictionary
The electronic version of the 3rd ed. Covers all aspects of the Greco-Roman world, from politics and economics to religion and philosophy to literature and art to social history and gender.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
Offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India
Traces the story of Indian music through 2,000 years of history. Entries cover forms of music from classical to film-originated, as well as dance styles, technical terms, instruments, and biographies of vocalists, musicologists, saint poets, gurus, composers, and instrumentalists. The work spans not only all regions of India, but also covers the music of the Subcontinent, including Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated as new content is commissioned and approved. Includes time lines, images, maps and primary source documents.
Oxford Music Online
Encyclopedic coverage of musical subjects of all kinds including composers, performers, conductors, musical terms and forms, individual works, instruments and notations, venues, and genres. Electronic version of the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. Cross-searchable with the Encyclopedia of Popular Music. 
PAIS International and PAIS Archive
Indexes materials relating to political, social, and public policy issues. Citations include journal articles, books, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, and government documents; a ProQuest database; 1914 - present. 
Perseus Digital Library
Texts, images, datasets, encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries, reference works, and other primary materials in the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. Includes texts in Latin and/or Greek. 
Philosopher's Index
Indexes and abstracts the scholarship of philosophy and related fields. Includes books and journal articles; a ProQuest database; 1940 - present. 
Political Handbook of the World
Provides thorough and accurate information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system. Individual country profiles include key facts, government and political history, political parties and organizations,legislatures and cabinets, major national media outlets, and current issues. Click on the CQP Electronic Library link to cross-search all CQ Press subscriptions. 
Project Muse
Full-text current and archival articles from 580+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. The Library's subscription also includes over 1,800 e-books. Updated continually.
ProQuest Congressional
Full text access to publications from and about the U.S. Congress, including congressional working papers, bills (1989-), and testimony (1988-); committee reports (1990-); member biographical and committee assignment information; voting records (1988-); member and campaign financial data and disclosures; plus the Federal Register (1980-), the Code of Federal Regulations (current), the U.S. CodeCIS Indexing and Abstracts (1970-), and the Congressional Record (1985-). 
ProQuest Databases
Use this link to cross search all of the ProQuest databases: Alt-PressWatch, American Periodicals Series, Biological Sciences, EconLit, ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Index Islamicus, Massachusetts Newsstand (includes the Boston Globe and the Providence Journal), the New York Times, PAIS, Philosopher's Index, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.  
PsycINFO
Indexes and abstracts the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. American Psychological Association and Canadian Psychological Association journals are in full text; one of the Ovid databases; 1806 - present.

note: to use PsycINFO with RefWorks, please login here instead of the link above
PsycTESTS
Provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
PubMed
Comprehensive index to scholarship of life sciences and biomedicine. Compiled by the U.S. National Library of Medicine; links to subscription-based and free full text articles; 1950 - present. 
Repère
Indexes and abstracts French language periodicals. Includes full text for over 190 periodicals. 1980 - present.

note: use VPN for off-campus access
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online
Perhaps the most authoritative overview of individual philosophers and philosophical concepts.
Routledge Religion Online
Contains a collection of reference works, mostly handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias, in the area of religion. Titles are fully searchable as a group or may be browsed individually.
Schubertline
Instant printed sheet music of lieder, songs and arias - view, play and print in any key.

note: contact Library Information Desk (x3700) for access
ScienceDirect
Full text of over 2,500 Elsevier journals and 10 encyclopedias in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage for most titles is 1993 - or 1995 - present. 
SciFinder
Indexes and abstracts scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science and agricultural science. From Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS); 1907 - present.

note:
Every first time Wheaton user will have to create a login account for access (and must use wheatonma.edu, NOT wheatoncollege.edu in your email address).

note:
use VPN for off-campus access.
Scopus
Indexes and abstracts scientific, technical, medical, social sciences and some humanities literature and web resources. Includes citation tracking and links to full text articles. Early 1900's - present for some abstracts; 1996 - present for citation tracking.
Shakespeare Survey
A yearbook of Shakepeare studies and productions. Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances. Includes images and production photographs.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes articles and book reviews in some of the key international English language journals in the social sciences, for example: anthropology, area studies, economics, political science, psychology, sociology; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.
Social Services Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts research in social work, human services, social welfare and policy, and community development. A ProQuest database; 1979 - present. 
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes journals, dissertations, conference papers, and selected books in sociology and related disciplines. A ProQuest database; 1952 - present. 
Supreme Court Yearbook
Provides valuable in-depth coverage and analysis of every decision from the nation's highest court. Click on the CQP Electronic Library link to cross-search all CQ Press subscriptions. 1989/90 session - present.
Times (London) Digital Archive
Indexing and full-image of every page published by The Times (London) from 1785 - 1985. For current indexing, use Academic OneFile or LexisNexis Academic.
Times Literary Supplement (TLS) Historical Archive 1902-2009
Includes the original image of more than 300,000 reviews, letters, and poems. Fully searchable, and browseable by date, book title, author, contributor, illustrator, editor or translator.
Treatise on Geochemistry
This electronic version of the 10 volume set includes all the major subjects in the field, ranging from the chemistry of the solar system to environmental geochemistry.
Ulrichsweb
Provides bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals.
VAST Academic Video Online
Includes over 14,000 streaming videos in American history, area studies, art and architecture, business and economics, counseling and therapy, criminal justice, dance, education, ethnic studies, health and society, humanities, opera, philosophy and religion, politics and current affairs, psychology, science, theatre, women's and gender studies, world history, and world languages and literatures.

Producers and distributors include the BBC, Cinema Guild, Documentary Educational Resources, First Run Features, and PBS. Search by author/creator, title, subject or transcripts/notes. Create, save, edit and share playlists. From Alexander Street Press.

Browsers of choice are Firefox 3.0 or higher or Microsoft Internet Explorer 7.0 or higher. You must have Adobe Flash Player 9 or higher installed to access audio and video resources. Click here for an online tutorial.

Mobile devices supported include the iPhone and iPad on a 3G network or better or a mobile device with Android OS.

Wall Street Journal on the Web - current file
Current (1984+) file includes indexing plus full text articles, with limited images.
Washington Post on the Web - current file
Current (1987+) file includes indexing plus full text articles, with limited images.
Washington Post on the Web - historical file
Historical (1877-1997) file includes indexing and full text articles and full page images.
Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development. Vol. 1: Basic Research
The first volume of this 2 volume set provides comprehensive coverage of the basic research relating to infant development.  
Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development. Vol. 2: Applied and Policy Issues
The second volume of this 2 volume set provides comprehensive coverage of the applied and policy issues relating to infant development. 
Women Writers Online
Full text collection of pre-Victorian (1400-1850) literature by women. From Brown University.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, AV materials, electronic media, and other materials related to Shakespeare published between 1961 - 2009. International coverage (118+ languages).
WorldCat Local
Find and request material at Wheaton, HELIN, Brown, Google Books, and WorldCat (libraries worldwide).
WorldCat via FirstSearch
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.  
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files