Databases

more information icon Click for more information about a database.


Berg Fashion Library
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of content collections, including the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, e-books, e-journals, museum directory, reference works, images, and more. Browsable by time period (1600 to date) and by place.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Indexes and abstracts publications in the history of art, covering current literature of European art from Late Antiquity to the present and American art from the European discoveries to the present. International coverage; 1990 - present. As of April 1, 2010, the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) will be available free of charge on the Getty Web site. The database includes both BHA (covering 1990-2007) and the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA), one of the predecessors of BHA, with records that cover 1975–1989.
Biography in Context
Biographies from several reference sources, including Marquis Who's Who, with related full text articles, images and links to hand-picked web sites. Searchable by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text, via InfoTrac. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
Biological Sciences
Indexes and abstracts a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, and ecology, some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Formerly known as: CSA Biological Sciences; 1946 - present.
BioOne
Full text access to over 190 scholarly journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Subscription includes BioOne and BioOne.2.
Birds of North America Online
The electronic version of the 18 volume Birds of North America completed in 2002. Provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. Account contents are updated frequently, and include image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and recordings of that bird's songs and calls. Produced by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology.
Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides review excerpts and over 100,000 full text reviews. Use Book Review Digest Retrospective for pre-1983 coverage, or search the 2 databases together; 1983 - present.
Book Review Digest Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. For works published after 1982, use Book Review Digest Plus, or search the 2 databases together; 1905 - 1982.
Boston Globe Online
1980+ indexing, plus full text articles. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
Britannica Online
Online equivalent of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. Also includes articles not included in the print edition, the Merriam-Webster Dictionarythe Britannica Book of the Year, and an editorially selected directory of links.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files