Databases

more information icon Click for more information about a database.


Gale Databases
Use this link to access all cross-searchable Gale databases: Academic OneFile, General OneFile, Biography in Context, Criminal Justice Collection, Culinary Arts Collection, Educator's Reference Complete, Environmental Studies and Policy Collection, Expanded Academic ASAP, Gale Virtual Referecne Library, Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection, General Business File ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, Health Referecne Center Academic, Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection, Massachusetts History Online, Nursing and Allied Health Collection, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Physical Therapy and Sports medicine Collection, Science in Context, U.S. History in Context, Vocation and Careers Collection, and World History in Context.

Access to these databases is provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC).  
Gale NewsVault [Cross-Search Illustrated London News, Times (London) & TLS]
Cross-search the Illustrated London News 1842-2003, the Times (London) 1785-1985, and the Times Literary Supplement (TLS) 1902-2009.  
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
The electronic version of Garland's Encyclopedia of World Music uses a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and complemented by an extensive index. Includes hundreds of audio examples. 
Gender Studies Database
Indexes gender-engaged scholarship from professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. 1972 - present. 
GenderWatch
Full text database of material related to gender issues, with emphasis on women's studies. Includes books, newsletters, reports, newspapers, magazines and scholarly journal articles; publication dates vary from the 1970's, 1980's, or 1990's - present.
General BusinessFile ASAP
Indexes and abstracts articles on business and management topics. Many articles are in full text; via InfoTrac; 1980 - present. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
General Reference Center Gold (Magazine Index)
Indexes and abstracts articles from general interest magazines, journals, reference books, and newspapers. Many articles are in full text; via InfoTrac; 1980 - present. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.



Google News Archive
2,400 digitized newspapers from around the world, in various languages. Date of coverage varies by title and holdings are often incomplete. NOTE: not all content is free and this site is no longer updated, but it is still worthwhile to use for historical newspapers that might not be available elsewhere.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

note: configure Library Links to see if your item is available through Wallace Library
GreenFILE
Indexes and abstracts journal articles relating to the human impact on the environment in such disciplines as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
An electronic resource based on the multi-volume encyclopedia internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations. A major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom with thorough articles that familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their taxonomy, life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. An excellent source for maps, illustrations and photographs.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files