Databases

more information icon Click for more information about a database.


Birds of North America Online
The electronic version of the 18 volume Birds of North America completed in 2002. Provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. Account contents are updated frequently, and include image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and recordings of that bird's songs and calls. Produced by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection
Includes over 8,000 streaming videos and 90,000 video clips from providers such as ABC Nightline, the BBC, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Ken Burns, National Geographic, PBS, and TED.

Subjects include anthropology, area studies, art and architecture, biological sciences and medicine, environmental science, business and economics, communication, computers and technology, education, english and world languages, geography, history, mathematics, music and dance, philosophy and religion, political science, psychology, and sociology and criminal justice. Create playlists, search for video segments, and organize videos into folders. From the Films Media Group.

You must have Adobe Flash Player 10 or higher installed to access audio and video resources. Click here for a tutorial. For more documentation and the Films on Demand Help Center, click here.

Mobile devices supported include the iPad, iPhone, and iPod Touch, Android devices if Flash is utilized for playback, and the KindleFire if users manually enable Flash before viewing on demand videos. 
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
The electronic version of Garland's Encyclopedia of World Music uses a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and complemented by an extensive index. Includes hundreds of audio examples. 
VAST Academic Video Online
Includes over 14,000 streaming videos in American history, area studies, art and architecture, business and economics, counseling and therapy, criminal justice, dance, education, ethnic studies, health and society, humanities, opera, philosophy and religion, politics and current affairs, psychology, science, theatre, women's and gender studies, world history, and world languages and literatures.

Producers and distributors include the BBC, Cinema Guild, Documentary Educational Resources, First Run Features, and PBS. Search by author/creator, title, subject or transcripts/notes. Create, save, edit and share playlists. From Alexander Street Press.

Browsers of choice are Firefox 3.0 or higher or Microsoft Internet Explorer 7.0 or higher. You must have Adobe Flash Player 9 or higher installed to access audio and video resources. Click here for an online tutorial.

Mobile devices supported include the iPhone and iPad on a 3G network or better or a mobile device with Android OS.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files