All Items by Source

BACKGROUND RESEARCH

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Digital library of over 700 cross-searchable reference books in a wide variety of disciplines. A great starting point for your research that also leads you right to the library catalog and other databases.
Dictionary of Untranslatables Restricted Resource
This is a dictionary of philosophical, literary, and political terms and concepts that defy easy--or any--translation from one language and culture to another. Drawn from more than a dozen languages, these terms are thoroughly examined in all their cross-linguistic and cross-cultural complexities. 
Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online equivalent of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. Also includes articles not included in the print edition, the Merriam-Webster Dictionarythe Britannica Book of the Year, and an editorially selected directory of links.

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, and Dictionaries

Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Comprehensive, 6-volume encyclopedia of intellectual and cultural history from ancient to modern times. 
Call Number: Ref. CB9 .N49 2005. 
Shorter Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Restricted Resource
This encyclopedia presents a selection of the most important entries available in The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy for the first time and covers topic in the fields from Aristotle to Wittgenstein, ethics to scientific method. Comprised of over 900 entries and covers the major philosophers and philosophical topics.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Some full text available
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is a freely-accessible online encyclopedia covering all areas of philosophy. Each entry is written and maintained by an expert in the field. 
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Online encyclopedia of philosophy, hosted at the University of Tennessee.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Research by Subject