All Items by Source

ADDITIONAL DATABASES

NCBI - National Center for Biotechnology Information

NCBI supports and distributes a variety of databases for the medical and scientific communities, including: the GenBank DNA sequence database; the Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM); the Molecular Modeling Database (MMDB) of 3D protein structures; the Unique Human Gene Sequence Collection (UniGene); a Gene Map of the Human Genome; the Taxonomy Browser; and the Cancer Genome Anatomy Project (CGAP), in collaboration with the National Cancer Institute.


Data and Statistics

World Health Organization
"WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends." Includes data and reports on matters of world health, including The World Health Report.

Data Sources

GenBank (NCBI)
GenBank is an annotated repository of all publicly available genetic sequences maintained by the National Center of Biotechnology Information (NCBI), a division of the National Institute of Health (NIH).  Genbank can also be directly accessed via the NCBI's Entrez Nucleotide user interface.
JSTOR Global Plants Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Provides access to botanical resources from over 270 herbaria, libraries, museums and other research institutions. The database includes 2,000,000 plant type specimens from herbaria around the world, scientific research articles and primary sources including photographs, correspondence and diaries, paintings, drawings, plus full text books and reference works on botany.

For more information, use JSTOR's LibGuide.
Animal Diversity Web
Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan. It includes 1000s of species accounts about individual animal species. These may include text, pictures of living animals, photographs and movies of specimens, and/or recordings of sounds. (Students write the text of these accounts and we cannot guarantee their accuracy.)Also descriptions of levels of organization above the species level, especially phyla, classes, and in some cases, orders and families. Hundreds of hyperlinked pages and images illustrate the traits and general biology of these groups. (Professional biologists prepare this part.)
PubChem (NCBI)
PubChem is a source of data on the biological activities of small molecules.  It is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and includes a structure drawing & search tool.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jillian Amaral

Jillian Amaral
Sciences & Math Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3767

Research by Subject