All Items by Source

CORE RESOURCES

Film Literature Index
Indexes journal articles about film, television and video, including reviews and book reviews; online coverage is 1976-2001, use print index for 2002-2004.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) Restricted Resource
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Full text backfiles of over 2,500 core scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To help you navigate and search JSTOR, check their helpful how-to guide (PDF). 

Note: JSTOR includes 16 current titles, but for all others, JSTOR does not contain the most recent 1-7 years of content. Many of these titles are continued in the Library's print and/or electronic subscriptions, however. Check the Journal Finder for complete holdings information.


ADDITIONAL DATABASES

New York Times [nytimes.com] Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Full access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes smartphone apps. Wheaton users must be on campus, connected to the Wheaton network & must register for an account using their Wheaton email address. Includes access to articles published 1851-1922 and 1981-present.
note: Login access only; limited to Wheaton students, faculty & staff. 1851-1922, 1981+ [limited access to 1923-1980]
New York Times - Historical File 1851-2015 [ProQuest] Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Historical (1851-2015) file includes indexing and full text articles and full page images. Full text is not available for any articles affected by the Supreme Court ruling on the Tasini case (freelance writers and copyright).

For current access, register for the free campuswide access available to all current Wheaton faculty, staff, and students - see New York Times [nytimes.com] for more information.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text current and archival articles from 670+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. The Library's subscription also includes over 7,000 e-books. Updated continually.
Art Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO] Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Indexes material in the fields of art, art history, architecture, design, and film, including articles in periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, and reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed journals; 1984 - present. Includes over 320 full text journals. For coverage of art literature from 1929 to 1984, search Art Index Retrospective.

Data and Statistics

Statista Restricted Resource
Extensive database of statistics on (almost) any topic imaginable, drawn from thousands of sources. Also contains information about industries and individual companies and organizations. 

Streaming Audio and Video

Academic Video Online Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Includes over 14,000 streaming videos in American history, area studies, art and architecture, business and economics, counseling and therapy, criminal justice, dance, education, ethnic studies, health and society, humanities, opera, philosophy and religion, politics and current affairs, psychology, science, theatre, women's and gender studies, world history, and world languages and literatures.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Includes over 8,000 streaming videos and 90,000 video clips from providers such as ABC Nightline, the BBC, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Ken Burns, National Geographic, PBS, and TED.

Websites

Internet Moving Image Archive openURL Resource contains video
An online archive of documentaries, home movies, news reels, educational and industrial films, and advertisements.
Movie Review Query Engine
The Internet’s largest database of movie reviews for over 100,000 titles. The continually growing site provides a searchable index of all published and available reviews, news, interviews, and other materials associated with specific movies. 
Film School Thesis Generator openURL
Stuck? Blocked? Why not generate a little inspiration?
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Research by Subject