Welcome!
Open Educational Resources (OER) are available in a wide variety of places. Use this guide to direct you to some places to begin your searches.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jillian Amaral

Jillian Amaral
Sciences & Math Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3767

Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Picture: Janine Kuntz

Janine Kuntz
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222

Getting Started
If you're entirely new to OER, or you'd like more information about copyright, finding OER, teaching with OER or publishing OER, try the OER Starter Kit from Iowa State University.
LTLC Funds
LTLC offers a funding opportunity for faculty members interested in replacing their textbooks in a course with Open Textbooks or other OER.

For more information and the application for funds, visit the LTLC website
Creative Commons Licenses

CC













(Creative Commons licenses explained ©Foter (adapted by Jisc) via Foter blog CC BY-SA)
 

Public Domain Project
The Public Domain Project, founded by Pond5, is a collection of multiple file types all within the public domain, including video footage, music tracks, sound effects, after effects, photographs, illustrations, and 3D models. 
Open Video
C-SPAN Video Library
Collection of more than 170,000 hours of content, going back to 1987, including author interviews, political rallies, interviews with newsmakers and journalists.

FedFlix
Films made by the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever. 

Folkstreams
A national preserve of documentary films about American roots cultures.

Free Documentaries
A non-profit organization that offers a wide variety of documentaries by independent filmmakers from around the world.

Moving Image Archive
Over 1.5 million digitized videos and clips, including cartoons, commercials and classic films, many public domain or available via Creative Commons license.

National Film Board of Canada
The National Film Board of Canada’s online Screening Room, offering documentaries, animated film and more from around the world. 

The Open Video Project
A repository of open access digitized videos for education and learning purposes.

Snag Films
A collection of independent movies you can watch on demand, for free, and share with others.

TED Talks
TED Talks library of videos filmed at TED conferences, TEDx events, and other events. 

Vimeo Creative Commons
Browse through Vimeo videos with a Creative Commons license. 
Open Educational Resources (OER)
You can use this meta finder to search all the collections below at once, or you can go into each collection separately. Those indicated with an asterisk (*) are the recommended places to start.
 
Textbooks/Additional Material
COERLL: Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning
Collection of foreign language materials.

Khan Academy
Collection of materials focused on K-12 and early college.

LibreTexts
Collection of OER Textbooks started at UC-Davis.

National Science Digital Library
Collection of educational resources for STEM fields. 

Odyssey
A learning objects and educational resources repository created and maintained by the University Libraries at Virginia Tech. 

Open Course Library
Collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. 

OpenSUNY
An open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries.

Orange Grove
Florida's digital repository for instructional resources. 
Open Audio
Audio Archive
This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming to Grateful Dead concerts to Old Time Radio. Most are downloadable, but all materials on the site are free to use/share.

Bandcamp Creative Commons
Collection of music uploaded to bandcamp with a Creative Commons license.

CCMixter
A community music remixing site featuring remixes and samples licensed under Creative Commons licenses.

Free Music Archive
The FMA is a collection of high-quality, legal audio material, all under a Creative Commons license. 
Open Images
AICT: Art Images for College Teaching
Collection of art images developed by the Minneapolis College of Art and Design.

Creative Commons Search
A collection of images from multiple public repositories in a single catalog. 

Flickr
A collection of images under Creative Commons licenses. Browse collections from institutions such as The Library of Congress, Smithsonian Institution, and the U.S. Government

Getty Search Gateway
Search images in the Getty collection that are under Creative Commons licenses. 

Old Book Illustrations
Collection of scanned images from books in the public domain. 

Pixabay
Pixabay is a vibrant community of creatives, sharing copyright free images and videos.

PPOC: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Contains images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. 

Unsplash
Over 850,000 free high-resolution photos brought to you by a community of photographers.