Subject Specialist
Picture: Kate Boylan

Kate Boylan
Director, Archives & Digital Initiatives
Tel: (508) 286 5821

Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Picture: Janine Kuntz

Janine Kuntz
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Wikipedia Core Policies for Content
Neutral Point of View: 
All Wikipedia articles and other encyclopedic content must be written from a neutral point of view, representing significant views fairly, proportionately, and without bias.

Verifiability:
Material challenged or likely to be challenged, and all quotations, must be attributed to a reliable, published source. In Wikipedia, verifiability means that peoplr reading and editing the encyclopedia can check that information comes from a reliable source. 

No Original Research:
Wikipedia does not publish original thought: all material in Wikipedia must be attributable to a reliable, published source. Articles may not contain any new analysis or synthesis of published material that serves to advance a position not clearly advanced by the sources. 

For more information on Wikipedia content policies, click here. 
Wikipedia Image Use Policy
Images must be one of the following to be eligible for use in Wikipedia: 

  • Own work: You own all the rights to the image, usually meaning that you created it entirely yourself. 
  • Freely licensed: You can prove that the copyright holder has released the image under an acceptable free license.
  • Public Domain: You can prove that the image is in the public domain (free of all copyrights). 
  • Fair Use: You believe that the image meets the special conditions for non-free content and you can provide an explicit non-free use rationale explaining why and how you intend to use it. 

For more information and clarification, click here
Wikipedia Five Pillars
The fundamentals of Wikipedia can be summarized in five pillars: 

  1. Wikipedia is an encyclopedia.
  2. Wikipedia is written from a neutral point of view.
  3. Wikipedia is free content that anyone can use, edit, and distribute.
  4. Wikipedia's editors should treat each other with respect and civility.
  5. Wikipedia has no firm rules.

 For more information, click here
Wikipedia Guidelines
Wikipedia has guidelines covering all aspects of its content, users, and processes. Over 200 pages of guidelines are categorized according to their purpose. Click on any of these categories to see a listing of all the guidelines under that category. 
Finding your Topic
Wikipedia provides lists of stubs, articles that provide some useful information but lack encyclopedic coverage of a subject, that you can use to help identify a topic that you would like to research. Here are some listings of stubs, divided into categories, that you can build on: 
If you would like to browse the complete listing of stubs, click here.
Research Resources
America: History and Life [EBSCO] Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, book reviews and dissertations on United States and Canadian history and culture (for world history, use Historical Abstracts); 1964 - present. 

Biography in Context [Gale] Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Biographies from several reference sources, including Marquis Who's Who, with related full text articles, images and links to hand-picked web sites. Searchable by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.

CC Search Unrestricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Find images, music, video, and more that fall under Creative Commons licenses. 

Gender Studies Database [EBSCO] Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes gender-engaged scholarship from professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. 1972 - present. 

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text database of material related to gender issues, with emphasis on women's studies. Includes books, newsletters, reports, newspapers, magazines and scholarly journal articles. A ProQuest database, publication dates vary from the 1970's, 1980's, or 1990's to present.

HathiTrust Digital Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Digital library created from the collections of major research libraries in the United States and around the world. Items range from medieval Arabic manuscripts to early modern European incunabula, from colonial American pamphlets to 19th-century treatises on natural history. Although a part of the collection is only accessible to members of participating/contributing institutions, many materials (particularly those no longer in copyright) are freely accessible.

Humanities Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO] Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Indexes journals in the disciplines of archaeology and classical studies, art, folklore, history, language and literature, literary criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Full text backfiles of over 2,500 core scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To help you navigate and search JSTOR, check their helpful how-to guide (PDF). 

Note: JSTOR includes 16 current titles, but for all others, JSTOR does not contain the most recent 1-7 years of content. Many of these titles are continued in the Library's print and/or electronic subscriptions, however. Check the Journal Finder for complete holdings information.


News Research Guide
Links to U.S., International, Alternative, and Historical news sources. 

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text current and archival articles from 670+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. The Library's subscription also includes over 7,000 e-books. Updated continually.

Queer Studies Research Guide
Resources for finding articles, books, and internet resources covering queer studies. 

Social Sciences Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO] Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes articles and book reviews in some of the key international English language journals in the social sciences, for example: anthropology, area studies, economics, political science, psychology, sociology; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.

World Digital Library (WDL) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world. The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures." ?

 
Getting Started with Wikipedia










Research by Subject