Additional Resources in Anthropology
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janine Kuntz

Janine Kuntz
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Gebbie Archives & Special Collections
Wheaton's Archives and Special Collections houses the college's archives, rare books, manuscripts, documents of unique value, and items that relate to Wheaton's rich history.

Collections include the Oral History Collection, the Historical Collection on Women, and the Wheaton Family Collection.

Contact the Archives for more information.
Primary Sources
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Includes over 8,000 streaming videos and 90,000 video clips from providers such as ABC Nightline, the BBC, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Ken Burns, National Geographic, PBS, and TED. Subjects include anthropology, area studies, art and architecture, biological sciences and medicine, environmental science, business and economics, communication, computers and technology, education, english and world languages, geography, history, mathematics, music and dance, philosophy and religion, political science, psychology, and sociology and criminal justice. Create playlists, search for video segments, and organize videos into folders. From the Films Media Group. You must have Adobe Flash Player 10 or higher installed to access audio and video resources. Films on Demand has an excellent Support Center with tutorials. Mobile devices supported include the iPad, iPhone, and iPod Touch, Android devices if Flash is utilized for playback, and the KindleFire if users manually enable Flash before viewing on demand videos. 

National Anthropological Archives & Human Studies Film Archives Unrestricted Resource
Part of the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History. "The National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives collect and preserve historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of anthropology. Their collections represent the four fields of anthropology...and include fieldnotes, journals, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists and other preeminent scholars."

Academic Video Online Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Includes over 62,000 streaming videos in American history, area studies, art and architecture, business and economics, counseling and therapy, criminal justice, dance, education, ethnic studies, health and society, humanities, opera, philosophy and religion, politics and current affairs, psychology, science, theatre, women's and gender studies, world history, and world languages and literatures. Producers and distributors include the BBC, Cinema Guild, Documentary Educational Resources, First Run Features, and PBS. Search by author/creator, title, subject or transcripts/notes. Create, save, edit and share playlists. From Alexander Street Press. Browsers of choice [Windows]: Microsoft Internet Explorer 8.0 or higher, Firefox 3.0 or higher, and Google Chrome 1.0 or higher; [Mac OS X] Safari 1.0 or higher, Firefox 3.0 or higher, and Google Chrome 1.0 or higher. You must have Adobe Flash Player 9 or higher installed to access audio and video resources. Go to Alexander Street's Resource Center for video tutorials. Mobile devices supported include the iPhone and iPad on a 3G network or better or a mobile device with Android OS.
Research by Subject