All Items by Source

BACKGROUND RESEARCH

Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource openURL
Encyclopedic coverage of art, archaelogy, architecture, design and film. Electronic version of the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Grove Dictionary of Art, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art
ArtLex Art Dictionary
Contains definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art and visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, great quotations and cross-references.
Critical Concepts in Art History: For Students, By Students Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
‚ÄčResearched and written by art history majors at Wheaton College for Prof. Ellen McBreen’s Art History Today: A Critical Assessment (Spring 2015), this senior seminar project had several goals: to create an accessible resource for fellow students in art history and visual studies, to critically assess the key concepts of our evolving discipline, and to gain professional experience with digital publishing in a collaborative project.‚Äč
Berg Fashion Library Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of content collections, including the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, e-books, e-journals, museum directory, reference works, images, and more. Browsable by time period (1600 to date) and by place.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Research by Subject