All Items by Source

PRIMARY SOURCES

Aluka Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa including a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides.
Artcyclopedia
Offers deep links to worldwide museum and art gallery web pages and digital collections, organized by specific artist. Allows you to quickly find which museum hold pieces by your artist, and to click right to that museum's collections.
ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Searchable database of over 1 million digital images and associated catalog data. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search and view images. To download images users must create an account. More information at Finding Images.

You can find additional resources regarding image use and copyright by visiting this link, and find out more about how Artstor collections are used in The Artstor Blog.
Blue Mountain Project: Historic Avant-Garde Periodicals for Digital Research Some full text available Resource contains images
Digital collection of often rare European art, music, and culture periodicals from 1848 to c. 1923.
Gebbie Archives & Special Collections
The Marion B. Gebbie Archives & Special Collections, housed on the Archives level of Wallace Library, is home to a treasure trove of Wheaton-related archival papers and multimedia, as well as a wealth of special collection books, manuscripts, and realia. Wheaton's history as a women's seminary and then a women's college provides a special focus on women's studies for much of the collection.
HathiTrust Digital Library Some full text available
Digital library created from the collections of major research libraries in the United States and around the world. Items range from medieval Arabic manuscripts to early modern European incunabula, from colonial American pamphlets to 19th-century treatises on natural history. Although a part of the collection is only accessible to members of participating/contributing institutions, many materials (particularly those no longer in copyright) are freely accessible.
International Dada Archive Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The International Dada Archive includes books, periodicals, microfilmed manuscript collections, video recordings, sound recordings, and online resources by and about the Dadaists. From the Special Collections Department of The University of Iowa Libraries.
Primary Sources on American Art and Artists
Digitized collections of papers of American artists, dealers, critics and curators, from the Smithsonian Archives of American Art. Includes a selection of the thousands of documents, photographs, diaries, sketches, writings, and rare published materials housed in the physical archives.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Research by Subject