Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

About this Guide
Satellite image of AsiaThis Research Guide is meant to provide a brief overview of resources on the History of Asia and Oceania available to students at Wheaton College's Wallace Library

In addition to this guide, you may also want to consult that on the History of North Africa and the Middle East, as well as the general guide for History

Image credit: NASA composite satellite image of the Asian continent. Wikimedia Commons
Get an Overview of Your Topic
Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive chronology of Asian history from the earliest civilizations to the twentieth century. 2005. 

History of Civilizations of Central Asia Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Multi-volume history of Central Asia from prehistory to the twentieth century, commissioned and edited by UNESCO and published between 1992 and 2005. Each volume is available as an open access PDF document.

Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy Restricted Resource Some full text available
"Covers the main traditions within Asian thought: Persian; Indian; Buddhist; Chinese; Japanese; and Islamic philosophy. Each section provides comprehensive coverage of the origins of the tradition, its approaches to, for example, logic and languages, and to questions of morals and society. Also contains useful histories of the lives of the key influential thinkers, as well as a thorough analysis of the current trends." 1997. 

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India Restricted Resource openURL
Traces the story of Indian music through 2,000 years of history. Entries cover forms of music from classical to film-originated, as well as dance styles, technical terms, instruments, and biographies of vocalists, musicologists, saint poets, gurus, composers, and instrumentalists. The work spans not only all regions of India, but also covers the music of the Subcontinent, including Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
Find Books
HELIN Catalog
‚ÄčTo find books and e-books, audiovisual materials, board games, and other items held by the Wallace Library or our partners in the HELIN consortium, search the catalog: 

Advanced Search

 
Find Articles
Historical Abstracts [EBSCO] Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (for U.S. and Canada historian, use America: History and Life); 1955 - present.  

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text current and archival articles from 670+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. The Library's subscription also includes over 7,000 e-books. Updated continually. 

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Full text backfiles of over 2,500 core scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To help you navigate and search JSTOR, check their helpful how-to guide (PDF). 

Note: JSTOR includes 16 current titles, but for all others, JSTOR does not contain the most recent 1-7 years of content. Many of these titles are continued in the Library's print and/or electronic subscriptions, however. Check the Journal Finder for complete holdings information.

 
Google Scholar Unrestricted Resource openURL
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Note: If you are not on campus, configure Library Links to see if your item is available through Wallace Library. 
 
 
Find Primary Sources
East Asian Studies Collection (University of Wisconsin) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Digital collection of materials relating to East Asian cultures and histories from the archives and libraries of the University of Wisconsin. 

HathiTrust Digital Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Digital library created from the collections of major research libraries in the United States and around the world. Items range from medieval Arabic manuscripts to early modern European incunabula, from colonial American pamphlets to 19th-century treatises on natural history. Although a part of the collection is only accessible to members of participating/contributing institutions, many materials (particularly those no longer in copyright) are freely accessible.

World Digital Library (WDL) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world. The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures." 

Internet History Sourcebooks Project Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
One of the earliest efforts to collect open-access primary sources on the World Wide Web, founded and edited by Professor Paul Halsall of Fordham University. Besides official documents, this site includes narrative accounts, personal memoirs, songs, newspaper reports, as well as cultural, philosophical, religious, and scientific documents. It covers ancient, medieval, and modern history across all continents. 

Wilson Center Digital Archive: International History Declassified Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Digital collection of formerly classified documents from the Cold War era, from the archives of various governments. Particularly highlights international aspects of the Cold War, the Korean War, and the problem of nuclear (non-)proliferation.

National Library of Australia Historic Australian Newspapers, 1803-1954 Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Some of the available digitized newspapers include: the Argus (Melbourne), the Brisbane Courier, the Canberra Times, the Northern Territory Times, the Perth Gazette, and the Sydney Gazette and New South Wales Advertiser.