Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files
To find books and e-books, audiovisual materials, board games, and other items held by the Wallace Library or our partners in the HELIN consortium, search the catalog:
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files
- Academy of Management Journal
- Academic of Management Perspectives
- Academy of Management Review
- Accounting Review
- Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice
- Harvard Business Review (This electronic edition only offers abstracting and indexing; for the full text, check the print edition available on the Periodicals Level of the library.)
- Journal of Accounting Research
- Journal of Business Ethics
- Journal of Business Research
- Journal of Business Venturing
- Journal of Consumer Research
- Journal of Finance
- Journal of International Business Studies
- Journal of Management
- Journal of Management Studies
- Journal of Marketing
- Journal of Marketing Research
- Journal of Operations Management
- Journal of Organizational Behavior
- Management Science
- Organization Science
- Strategic Management Journal
Also check out the following magazines and newspapers:
- Bloomberg Businessweek
- Consumer Reports
- The Economist
- Fast Company
- Financial Times
- MIT Technology Review
- New York Times [nytimes.com]
- Wall Street Journal on the Web - current file
Other sources of company information include LexisNexis Academic and Statista (both of which are subscription databases and are accessible to Wheaton community members only). Freely accessible resources include Bloomberg Business Exchange, the EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval) system of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), and the databases of legally required corporate filings available from the Secretaries of State of each U.S. state.
AMA Dictionary of Business and Management
Surveys "a vast range of terminology from all areas of business including management, strategy, finance, human resources, economics, marketing, sales, insurance, and international business." Published by the American Management Association. 2013.
Barron's Business Dictionaries
Quick reference works with brief definitions of key business terms and concepts. The following are available as e-books at Wheaton:
General Overviews of Business, Management, and FinanceCapstone Encyclopedia of Business
Comprehensive encyclopedia covering business concepts, theories and theorists, organizations and companies, etc. 2003.
Encyclopedia of the History of American Management
Contains brief biographies and more extensive summaries of the works and ideas of major American management theorists and practitioners. Also includes short bibliographies relating to each entry. 2005.
Special TopicsAmerican Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia
Comprehensive encyclopedia covering U.S. economic history.
A to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility
Comprehensive reference works that covers central concepts of CSR, international standards, codes, and guidelines, as well as specialized topics. 2010.
Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
Comprehensive encyclopedia of political, economic, environmental, and social aspects of globalization.
Handbook of Contemporary Behavioral Economics
"The focus of this handbook is original papers by behavioral economists...providing in the process an insightful description and analysis of a particular and important aspect of behavioral economics. These are supplemented by a number of more conventional albeit critical surveys of the literature. Each contribution also provides extensive references."
International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology
The encyclopedia "gives comprehensive and accessible coverage of the wide range of areas and subjects covered by the field," including consumption, corruption, democracy and economy, ecology, gender and economy, globalization,and industrial relations. Contains bibliographies and index.
Research MethodsEncyclopedia of Research Design
The Encyclopedia of Research Design, edited by Neil J. Salkind, is a collection of entries written by scholars in the field of research design, the discipline of how to plan and conduct empirical research, including the use of both quantitative and qualitative methods.
Comprehensive business database includes ABI/INFORM Global; ABI/INFORM Dateline 1985 to present; and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, 1971 to present. Provides market and industry reports, as well as dissertations, conference proceedings, and research articles, plus the full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to present. A ProQuest database.
Business Collection [Gale]
Indexes and abstracts articles on business and management topics; many articles are in full text. 1980 - present. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
Business Economics and Theory Collection [Gale]
Indexes articles on business and economics topics, with some overlap with EconLit. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
Comprehensive index (with some fulltext links) of scholarly literature in business and economics—articles, working papers, book chapers, etc.—based on the extensive catalog of Germany's Leibniz Information Centre for Economics (formerly German National Library of Economics).
Indexes and abstracts U.S. and foreign newspapers, journals, transcripts, federal and state case law, law reviews, state and country profiles, company information and more. Many documents are in full text; dates of coverage vary.
Small Business Collection [Gale]
Contains articles from scholarly journal and trade magazines, with a focus on business strategy and entrepreneurship.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Joint portal of semi-formal networks of researchers in the social sciences that provides access to a variety of e-journals as well as abstracts and full text of preprints and working papers via its eLibrary. Topics range from accounting to marketing, leadership to sustainability, and corporate governance to information systems.
Extensive database of statistics on (almost) any topic imaginable, drawn from thousands of sources. Also contains information about industries and individual companies and organizations.
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers, and dissertations in economics. A ProQuest database, 1969 - present. Note: EconLit uses the JEL classification, which can be found under "thesaurus" in this ProQuest version of the database.
Indexes and abstracts the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. American Psychological Association and Canadian Psychological Association journals are in full text; one of the Ovid databases; 1806 - present. A helpful guide to searching PsycINFO on the Ovid platform (PDF) is available on the American Psychological Association website. Note: To use PsycINFO with RefWorks, please login here instead of the link above.
Indexes and abstracts scientific, technical, medical, social sciences and some humanities literature and web resources. Includes citation tracking and links to full text articles. Early 1900's - present for some abstracts; 1996 - present for citation tracking.
Social Sciences Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO]
Indexes articles and book reviews in some of the key international English language journals in the social sciences, for example: anthropology, area studies, economics, political science, psychology, sociology; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.
Social Science Open Access Repository (SSOAR)
Database of open-access social science articles and papers.
Indexes journals, dissertations, conference papers, and selected books in sociology and related disciplines. A ProQuest database; 1952 to present.
Primary Sources for Advertising/Marketing ResearchLooking for advertisements or commercials for your research project? For television or movie commercials, YouTube has a surprisingly good collection--just be careful how you search, and how to attribute what you find properly. You can also check out these resources:
Includes images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns. From Duke University's Digital Collections.
First created in 1996, this website (originally known as "The Commercial Closet") chronicles "over 4,000 LGBT themed ads from around the world going back to 1917, exploring the range of representations of gender and sexuality in print and television advertising. The material represents the best and worst of Madison Avenue's commercial messages, and everything in between."
From the digital collections at the Duke University Libraries, this collection contains historic television commercials from the archives of the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, covering the 1950s-1980s.
Vintage Ad Browser
Containing more than 100,000 historic ads from the late 19th century onwards, this privately curated website "aims to collect vintage ads from a variety of sources, including comic books, CD-Roms, websites, APIs, your submissions, book, magazine, and comic book scans, and more."
Primary Sources for Business HistoryHagley Digital Archives
Extensive digital collections on the history of business and technology in the United States, from the Hagley Museum & Library.
Columbia Historical Corporate Reports
From Columbia University's Watson Business & Economics Library, this collection of historic corporate reports contains scans from 36 companies over the course of over a century, from the 1850s to the 1960s.
Women Working: Harvard Open Collections
Focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.
Trade Literature Collection [Smithsonian Libraries]
"This collection--the catalogs and books that were once part of the merchandising of American business--is internationally known as an important source for the history of American business, technology, marketing, consumption, and design. Trade literature includes printed or handwritten lists, often illustrated, of items offered for sale ranging in size from small pamphlets to oversized folios of several hundred pages. Manufacturers of all sizes and types issued trade catalogs to promote and sell their products. The present collection contains more than 460,000 catalogs, technical manuals, advertising brochures, price lists, company histories and related materials representing over 36,000 companies."?
Digital Public Library of America [DPLA]
Aggregates digital collections from various institutions across the United States and serves as both a simple search portal and as a development platform with which online exhibitions etc. can be built.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital library created from the collections of major research libraries in the United States and around the world. Items range from medieval Arabic manuscripts to early modern European incunabula, from colonial American pamphlets to 19th-century treatises on natural history. Although a part of the collection is only accessible to members of participating/contributing institutions, many materials (particularly those no longer in copyright) are freely accessible.
See alsoFinding Data & Statistics
Finding Company Information