About this Guide
This page lists resources focused on resources related to Central and South American history. For more resources related to historical research, use the related guides listed below. 

For a full list of Wheaton's electronic resources, consult this list

Please pardon the appearance of this guide as it is being revised. 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Finding Books
HELIN Catalog Unrestricted Resource
​To find books and e-books, audiovisual materials, board games, and other items held by the Wallace Library or our partners in the HELIN consortium, search the catalog: 

Advanced Search



You can also find books by the serendipity method and browse the stacks. Most titles on Latin American history will be in the call number range F1201-F3799.  
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

All Items by Source

CORE RESOURCES

Historical Abstracts [EBSCO] Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (for U.S. and Canada historian, use America: History and Life); 1955 - present. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Full text backfiles of over 2,500 core scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To help you navigate and search JSTOR, check their helpful how-to guide (PDF). 

Note: JSTOR includes 16 current titles, but for all others, JSTOR does not contain the most recent 1-7 years of content. Many of these titles are continued in the Library's print and/or electronic subscriptions, however. Check the Journal Finder for complete holdings information.


Latin American Open Archives Portal
The Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP) is a project of the Latin American Research Resources Project, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents and other difficult to access materials from the "deep web".
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text current and archival articles from 670+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. The Library's subscription also includes over 7,000 e-books. Updated continually.
Humanities Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO] Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Indexes journals in the disciplines of archaeology and classical studies, art, folklore, history, language and literature, literary criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.
HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies)
Indexes and annotates scholarship on Latin America, including selected books and book chapters, journal articles, conference papers, and electronic resources. From the Library of Congress; 1935 - present.

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, and Dictionaries

African American Religious Culture Restricted Resource
Extensive encyclopedia outlining religious customs, institutions, and experiences of African Americans (understood as people of African descent in all of the Americas, not just the United States), from the 15th century to the present.
Companion to Hispanic Studies
Concise general overview of the major trends in Hispanic Studies scholarship, covering both Spain and the Americas.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Digital library of over 700 cross-searchable reference books in a wide variety of disciplines. A great starting point for your research that also leads you right to the library catalog and other databases.
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture Restricted Resource
Comprehensive reference work on Mexican history from the pre-Columbian era to the present. 
Guide to Latin American Studies Restricted Resource
Covering all aspects of Latin American culture, history, social issues, and politics, this guide presents a concise overview of the major trends in scholarship about Latin America.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures: The Civilizations of Mexico and Central America
Comprehensive, three-volume encyclopedia that covers all aspects of the cultural history of Central America from pre-Columbian days to the modern era.
Call No.: Ref. F1218.6 .O95 2001

Digital Libraries and Collections

HathiTrust Digital Library Some full text available
Digital library created from the collections of major research libraries in the United States and around the world. Items range from medieval Arabic manuscripts to early modern European incunabula, from colonial American pamphlets to 19th-century treatises on natural history. Although a part of the collection is only accessible to members of participating/contributing institutions, many materials (particularly those no longer in copyright) are freely accessible.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project Some full text available
One of the earliest efforts to collect open-access primary sources on the World Wide Web, founded and edited by Professor Paul Halsall of Fordham University. Besides official documents, this site includes narrative accounts, personal memoirs, songs, newspaper reports, as well as cultural, philosophical, religious, and scientific documents. It covers ancient, medieval, and modern history across all continents. 
Wilson Center Digital Archive: International History Declassified Some full text available
Digital collection of formerly classified documents from the Cold War era, from the archives of various governments. Particularly highlights international aspects of the Cold War, the Korean War, and the problem of nuclear (non-)proliferation.
World Digital Library (WDL) Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world. The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures." 
Early Americas Digital Archive
EADA is a collection of electronic texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820, published by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities.

Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library Some full text available
Provides access to the digitized versions of more than 150 Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Part of the Digital Library of the Caribbean.
Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de México Some full text available
Extensive digital library of historical newspapers and periodicals of Mexico, from the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). 1722- 
Historical Worldwide Newspapers Online: Latin America
List of links to historical news sources from Latin America, curated by librarians at Bowling Green State University. 

Websites

LANIC - Latin American Network Information Center
Curated by the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin, "LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America... LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 10,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet... Additionally, LANIC hosts large amounts of content from or about Latin America."