= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files
The major style manuals and citation formats are the following:
Authoritative guide to writing papers, and citing sources. Primarily focused on the humanities. Also check the Modern Language Association's helpful Style Center, which includes a quick guide to the MLA Handbook.
Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed.
Widely used style manual, particularly in history, art history, anthropology, and philosophy. Depending on the discipline, it provides for either author-date or footnote-style citations. On Reserve. A quick reference version is also available online.
Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers, 7th ed.
Guide to the so-called Turabian style--a somewhat simpler off-shoot of Chicago style. Call Number: Ref. LB2369 .T8 2007.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed.
Includes APA citation format guidelines for psychology and other disciplines. On Reserve. Updates on the APA web site. Also see the APA's online tutorial on the basics of APA style.
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
Council of Science Editors style manual. Call Number: Ref. T11 .S386 2006. A brief online quick-reference version is also available.
ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information
Third edition of the American Chemical Society's style manual. Call Number: Ref QD8.5 .A25 2006.
In addition to these manuals themselves, the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University has some very helpful quick guides for APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
More Help & Training Sessions
To set up a consultation or an in-class training session to learn more about RefWorks or Zotero, or for any technical help, please contact a Research Librarian.
Citation Formatting in Databases
Tip: Many of our databases and the WorldCat Local catalog also include built-in citation formatting.
The Wallace Library currently supports the free and open-source program Zotero and ProQuest's proprietary program RefWorks. (Other, currently unsupported options include Mendeley and Easybib.)
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free (as in speech and as in beer) citation management program that allows you to collect, organize, cite, and automatically format your research materials. It comes in two versions: a Firefox extension and a standalone version; the latter is recommended if Firefox is not your primary browser.
With Zotero, you can:
- Import the bibliographic information of articles, books, websites, and other formats directly from library databases, catalogs, or the open web.
- Import PDFs of articles from library databases when available.
- Add notes on each source directly to the Zotero entry for that source.
- Organize entries into project folders.
- Sync all entries to the cloud so that you can access them anywhere, anytime.
Use Zotero with Microsoft Word or LibreOffice to:
- Insert in-text citations directly from your Zotero database in the style of your choice.
- Add bibliographies with one click of a button.
- Change citation styles as needed.
Need Zotero Help?Zotero has an excellent help section, but by all means do contact a Liaison Librarian for help with Zotero or to schedule a workshop or in-class instruction session.
RefWorks is a web-based tool designed to help you organize your references and use them to create bibliographies and format citations in papers. With RefWorks, you can:
- Import the bibliographic information of a book, chapter or article from online library catalogs and library databases.
- Create project folders to keep your research organized.
- Save entries to the cloud for access from any devise.
- Create correctly styled in-text citations in the format of your choice.
- Insert bibliographies from your list of references in a variety of formats.
- Change citation styles as needed.