Tel: (508) 286 3924
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files
This research guide presents some core resources in Classics. For primary sources, please check the special guide to Primary Sources in Classics and Ancient History.
Additional resources are available on the following related guides:
Image credit: Panoramic View of the Forum Romanum, by Arnold Dekker. CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.
English translation of the completely overhauled edition of the exhaustive German encylopedia of ancient history and classical studies, pared down to 20-odd volumes from the original 80+. Divided into three sets: Antiquity, Classical Tradition, and Chronologies of the Ancient World - Names, Dates, and Dynasties. Call Number: Ref DE5 .P332 2002. N.B. The original German version, published between 1890 and 1980, is being transcribed on the German Wikisource site, and scans of several volumes are available at the Internet Archive.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a specific subject area. Includes guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works, etc., and links to useful websites. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Oxford Classical Dictionary
The electronic version of the 3th ed. Covers all aspects of the Greco-Roman world, from politics and economics to religion and philosophy to literature and art to social history and gender.
Guide to the Ancient World
Dictionary of ancient places and sites, primarily in Europe.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
Offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
Encyclopedic collection of articles on classical art, language, culture, history, and science and their influence throughout history.
Indexes journal articles, essays and conference proceedings in the field of classical studies. International coverage; 1924 - present.
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Bryn Mawr Classical Review publishes timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). This site is the authoritative archive of BMCR's publication, from 1990 to the present.
Humanities Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO]
Indexes journals in the disciplines of archaeology and classical studies, art, folklore, history, language and literature, literary criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.
Full text backfiles of over 2,500 core scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To help you navigate and search JSTOR, check their helpful how-to guide (PDF).
Note: JSTOR includes 16 current titles, but for all others, JSTOR does not contain the most recent 1-7 years of content. Many of these titles are continued in the Library's print and/or electronic subscriptions, however. Check the Journal Finder for complete holdings information.
Full-text current and archival articles from 670+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. The Library's subscription also includes over 7,000 e-books. Updated continually.
Bibliographic database hosted at the University of Toronto and the Université Catholique de Louvain which aggregates the tables of contents of about 200 scholarly periodicals (and some Festschriften) in Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion, with more than 100,000 articles captured and even some links to full text. 1992-present; select pre-1992 coverage.
Nestor: Bibliography of Aegean and Related Areas
"Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields, ... published monthly ... by the Department of Classics, University of Cincinnati. The primary geographic nexus of Nestor is the Aegean, including all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey. Nestor includes publications concerning the central and western Mediterranean, southeastern Europe, the eastern Mediterranean, western Asia, and other regions of archaeological research, if the specific bibliographic items contain Aegean artifacts, imitations, or influences, or make reference to Aegean comparanda."
To find books and e-books, audiovisual materials, board games, and other items held by the Wallace Library or our partners in the HELIN consortium, search the catalog:
Browsing the StacksIf you prefer research by serendipity, you will find the most relevant materials in the following call number ranges:
- Classical Philology; Classical Literature, Music, and Arts
- PA111–199: Greek and Latin Language
- PA201–1179: Greek Philology and Language
- PA2001–2995: Latin Philology and Language
- PA3000–3049: Classical Literature (in general)
- PA3050–5868: Greek Literature
- PA6000–: Latin Literature
- ML162-169: Ancient Music
- N5320-5899: Fine Arts in Antiquity
- NA210–340: Ancient Architecture
- NA69–169: Ancient Sculpture
- ND60–135: Ancient Painting
- NK610–685: Ancient Decorative Arts
- NK1180–1250: Ancient Decoration and Ornament
- NK4645–4654: Greek and Roman Vases
- GT530–580: Ancient dress and costume
- CJ201–1400: Ancient Numismatics
- CN1–1100: Ancient Epigraphy
- Z105-115: Paleography
- Ancient History
- D51-90: Ancient History (in general)
- DA145-147: Roman Britain
- DC62-63: Roman Gaul
- DE1-98: History of the Greco-Roman World
- DF1-500: Ancient Greece (to c. 323 CE)
- DG1–399: Ancient Italy, Rome to 476 CE
- DS71–75: Ancient Iraq to 638 CE
- DS81: Phoenicia
- DS96: Ancient Syria
- DS111–123: Ancient Israel
- DS275–287: Iran to 651 CE
- DT57–93: Ancient Egypt
- G82–88: Ancient Geography; see also G1033 (Atlases)
- HC31-39 & HD132–137 & HF355-381: Ancient Economic History
- HN9-10: Ancient Social History; also see HQ13 (History of Sexuality), HQ505-512 (History of the Family), HQ1127-1139 (Women's History), and HT863 (Slavery)
- U29-35: Ancient Military History
- Ancient Philosophy, Religion, Science, and Law
- B108-708: Ancient Philosophy
- BL700-820: Classical Religion and Mythology
- BR160-240: Early History of Christianity
- JC51-93: Ancient Political Institutions and Theory
- KJA: Roman Law
- R126-127: Ancient Medicine
Also try this digital library:Ancient World Digital Library (AWDL)
This digital library, hosted by the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University, is still under development, but nevertheless worth a look. It seeks to "identify, collect, curate, and provide access to a broad range of scholarly materials relevant to the study of the ancient world."
Scholarship in Classics usually uses the Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed. or its "little sister," Turabian's Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers, 7th ed. For a quick overview, check the helpful Guide to Citing Sources in Classics put together by Classics Department at Haverford College.
To manage your sources and references, try Zotero or .