Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

About This Guide
Raphael's fresco The School of Athens

This research guide presents some resources for primary sources in Classics, Ancient History, and related fields.

Information about reference materials, library databases, bibliographies, etc. is available in the research guides for 
Image credit: Raphael, "Scuola di Atene" (School of Athens), Fresco, Stanza della Signatura, Palazzo Apostolico, Rome, Italy. Via Wikimedia Commons.
Classical Texts
Perseus Digital Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Texts, images, datasets, encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries, reference works, and other primary materials in the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. Includes texts in Latin and/or Greek.  

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (Abridged) Unrestricted Resource
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has already collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. The freely available abridged database offers a portion of the entire TLG on the web.

Oxford Text Archive Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
"The University of Oxford Text Archive develops, collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources for use in Higher Education, in research, teaching and learning." This includes texts from antiquity to the modern period ready for text mining and available in XML, HTML, TXT, or ePub formats.  Note: Some resources are only available to users affiliated with the University of Oxford, but many are freely accessible. 

Digital Latin Library (DLL) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Set to launch in mid-2017, the joint project of the Society for Classical Studies, the Medieval Academy of America, and theRenaissance Society of America is geared toward "publishing and curating critical editions of Latin texts, of all types, from all eras, and facilitating an ongoing scholarly conversation about these texts through open collaboration and annotation," as well as toward "facilitating the finding and, where openly available and accessible online, the reading of all texts written in Latin." 

Internet Classics Archive Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
From MIT, this site presents some 400+ (primarily) Greek and Roman classical texts in English translation that can be text-mined and annotated—or simply enjoyed.

Loeb Classical Library
Established in 1911, this long-running book series from Harvard University Press presents classical texts in English translation, carefully edited and annotated by renowned classics scholars. Wallace Library subscribes to the series in print; use the link above to check the catalog for individual volumes.
Digital Libraries and Exhibitions
Digital Papyri Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
A digitized collection of (Greek) papyri dating to the third century BCE through the sixth century CE, from Harvard University's Houghton Library. Includes "strategies for searching Houghton's papyri as well as links to bibliographies related to these materials that were compiled by the Library." 

Digitized Manuscripts from the British Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
One-stop platform for searching and displaying manuscripts held at and digitized by the British Library. Particularly strong on pre-modern materials, from ancient European to early modern history. 
Miscellanea
Classical Language Instruction Project Unrestricted Resource Resource contains audio
Offers recordings of some sample spoken Greek and Latin texts. As there is still debate about certain aspects of pronunciation, pitch, and meter, several different variations of the same passages are presented. From Princeton University.