All Items by Source

BACKGROUND RESEARCH

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The electronic version of Garland's Encyclopedia of World Music uses a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and complemented by an extensive index. Includes hundreds of audio examples. 
Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource openURL
Encyclopedic coverage of musical subjects of all kinds including composers, performers, conductors, musical terms and forms, individual works, instruments and notations, venues, and genres. Electronic version of the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. Cross-searchable with the Encyclopedia of Popular Music

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, and Dictionaries

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource openURL
A six-volume comprehensive introduction to movement and dance, from style overviews to dance terms to individual dancers and choreographers. An excellent beginning point for research. Call Number: ​Ref. GV1585 .I586 2004. 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Research by Subject