All Items by Source

PRIMARY SOURCES

Academic Video Online Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Includes over 62,000 streaming videos in American history, area studies, art and architecture, business and economics, counseling and therapy, criminal justice, dance, education, ethnic studies, health and society, humanities, opera, philosophy and religion, politics and current affairs, psychology, science, theatre, women's and gender studies, world history, and world languages and literatures.

Producers and distributors include the BBC, Cinema Guild, Documentary Educational Resources, First Run Features, and PBS. Search by author/creator, title, subject or transcripts/notes. Create, save, edit and share playlists. From Alexander Street Press.

Browsers of choice [Windows]: Microsoft Internet Explorer 8.0 or higher, Firefox 3.0 or higher, and Google Chrome 1.0 or higher; [Mac OS X] Safari 1.0 or higher, Firefox 3.0 or higher, and Google Chrome 1.0 or higher. You must have Adobe Flash Player 9 or higher installed to access audio and video resources. Go to Alexander Street's Resource Center for video tutorials.

Mobile devices supported include the iPhone and iPad on a 3G network or better or a mobile device with Android OS.
American Ballroom Companion
From the American Memory Project, this is a collection of over two hundred social dance manuals at the Library of Congress. The list begins with a rare late fifteenth-century source, Les basses danses de Marguerite d'Autriche (c.1490) and ends with Ella Gardner's 1929 Public dance halls, their regulation and place in the recreation of adolescents. Along with dance instruction manuals, this online presentation also includes a significant number of antidance manuals, histories, treatises on etiquette, and other dance-related areas.  Many of the manuals also provide historical information on theatrical dance. All illuminate the manner in which people have joyfully expressed themselves as they dance for and with one another.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Includes over 8,000 streaming videos and 90,000 video clips from providers such as ABC Nightline, the BBC, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Ken Burns, National Geographic, PBS, and TED.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Research by Subject