Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. Includes images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Mainly in English; coverage dates vary. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
New York Times [nytimes.com]
Full access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes smartphone and tablet apps for current Wheaton faculty, staff, and students. To create a new account, users must have a valid Wheaton email address, and be on campus and connected to the Wheaton network. Once an account is established, login at nytimes.com or download the app from iTunes® (you will need to use an existing account, or create a new one).
To renew your account click log in and sign in with your Wheaton email address and your existing New York Times password.
Includes access to New York Times articles published between 1851 through 1922, and between 1981 through current day. Access to the years 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per 24 hour period for group pass subscribers. [note: for any pre-2014 articles not available from nytimes.com use the Library’s subscription to the New York Times Historical from ProQuest] To search the Times' archives by date, try the Times Machine. View the pages as they originally appeared, and save articles and images as a PDF.
Wall Street Journal on the Web - current file
Includes indexing plus full text articles, with limited images. From ProQuest, 1984 to present.
For additional news sources, visit our Guide to News Sources.
To find books and e-books, audiovisual materials, board games, and other items held by the Wallace Library or our partners in the HELIN consortium, search the catalog:
Indexes and abstracts articles on business and management topics; many articles are in full text. 1980 - present. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers, and dissertations in economics. A ProQuest database, 1969 - present. Note: EconLit uses the JEL classification, which can be found under "thesaurus" in this ProQuest version of the database.
Comprehensive index (with some fulltext links) of scholarly literature in business and economics—articles, working papers, book chapers, etc.—based on the extensive catalog of Germany's Leibniz Information Centre for Economics (formerly German National Library of Economics).
Full text backfiles of over 2,500 core scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To help you navigate and search JSTOR, check their helpful how-to guide (PDF).
Note: JSTOR includes 16 current titles, but for all others, JSTOR does not contain the most recent 1-7 years of content. Many of these titles are continued in the Library's print and/or electronic subscriptions, however. Check the Journal Finder for complete holdings information.
Indexes and abstracts U.S. and foreign newspapers, journals, transcripts, federal and state case law, law reviews, state and country profiles, company information and more. Many documents are in full text; dates of coverage vary.
Indexes and abstracts scientific, technical, medical, social sciences and some humanities literature and web resources. Includes citation tracking and links to full text articles. Early 1900's - present for some abstracts; 1996 - present for citation tracking.
Social Sciences Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO]
Indexes articles and book reviews in some of the key international English language journals in the social sciences, for example: anthropology, area studies, economics, political science, psychology, sociology; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.
Comprehensive business database includes ABI/INFORM Global; ABI/INFORM Dateline 1985 to present; and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, 1971 to present. Provides market and industry reports, as well as dissertations, conference proceedings, and research articles, plus the full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to present. A ProQuest database.
A free, open access repository of full text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including: working papers, conference papers and articles from over 600 journals. From the University of Minnesota.
arXiv: Quantitative Finance
Repository of scholarly papers on quantative finance, including topics like computational finance, mathematical finance, portfolio management, pricing of securities, and risk management.
Center for Economic and Policy Research
"The Center for Economic and Policy Research (CEPR) was established in 1999 to promote democratic debate on the most important economic and social issues that affect people's lives... CEPR is committed to presenting issues in an accurate and understandable manner, so that the public is better prepared to choose among the various policy options. Toward this end, CEPR conducts both professional research and public education."
PAIS International and PAIS Archive
Indexes materials relating to political, social, and public policy issues. Citations include journal articles, books, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, and government documents; a ProQuest database; 1914 - present.
Full text access to publications from and about the U.S. Congress, including congressional working papers, bills (1989-), and testimony (1988-); committee reports (1990-); member biographical and committee assignment information; voting records (1988-); member and campaign financial data and disclosures; plus the Federal Register (1980-), the Code of Federal Regulations (current), the U.S. Code, CIS Indexing and Abstracts (1970-), and the Congressional Record (1985-).
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Joint portal of semi-formal networks of researchers in the social sciences that provides access to a variety of e-journals as well as abstracts and full text of preprints and working papers via its eLibrary. Topics range from accounting to marketing, leadership to sustainability, and corporate governance to information systems.