Additional Resources in Economics
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janine Kuntz

Janine Kuntz
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Labor Resources
Emma Goldman Papers
Influential anarchist-feminist Emma Goldman was an early advocate for union organizing. Her papers include correspondence, speeches, essays, pamphlets, and newspaper accounts.

Labour Map
The British Columbia Labour Heritage Centre has developed an online map of places associated with the history of working people in the area.
Gebbie Archives & Special Collections
Wheaton's Archives and Special Collections houses the college's archives, rare books, manuscripts, documents of unique value, and items that relate to Wheaton's rich history.

Collections include the Oral History Collection, the Historical Collection on Women, and the Wheaton Family Collection. Economics students may be particularly interested in the Anonymous Boston Woman's Papers, a collection that records an unmarried woman's work and domestic obligations in the  mid-1850s.

Contact the Archives for more information.
Databases for Data and Statistics
ALFRED Unrestricted Resource
"ALFRED® allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available from various data sources. Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time." Provided by the Federal Reserve of St. Louis. 

American Community Survey Unrestricted Resource
From the US Census Bureau, this survey focuses on addresses rather than individuals.  It is designed to "show how people live," gathering data on the demographic, social, economic, and housing characteristics of communities.

American Factfinder Unrestricted Resource openURL
A comprehensive database of census data about the United States, drawing on a variety of Census Bureau surveys such as the decennial U.S. Census and the American Community Survey. Provides tables, data for download, and also allows for online mapping of census data.   

Bureau of Economic Analysis Unrestricted Resource
BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. Along with the Census Bureau and STAT-USA, BEA is part of the Department's Economics and Statistics Administration. BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public. BEA is one of the world's leading statistical agencies. Although it is a relatively small agency, BEA produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics that influence the decisions made by government officials, business people, households, and individuals. BEA's economic statistics, which provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy, are key ingredients in critical decisions affecting monetary policy, tax and budget projections, and business investment plans.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Unrestricted Resource
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor. The BLS also serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor.

Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) Unrestricted Resource
As the independent statistical agency within the Department of Transportation (DOT), the Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) is a politically objective supplier of trusted and statistically sound baseline, contextual, and trend information used to shape transportation policy, investments, and research across the U.S. and abroad. BTS is the preeminent source of statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight, and transportation economics.

CDC Wonder Unrestricted Resource openURL
Public health information and data sets from the Center for Disease Control.

Current Population Survey Unrestricted Resource
The CPS is the primary source of information on the labor force characteristics of the U.S. population.  Estimates obtained from the CPS include employment, unemployment, earnings, hours of work, and other indicators. They are available by a variety of demographic characteristics including age, sex, race, marital status, and educational attainment. They are also available by occupation, industry, and class of worker.

Data.gov Unrestricted Resource openURL
This government website contains a wealth of geospatial data and services.  You can look at their gallery or search for and download shapefiles and other data sources. Files include extensive metadata and details.
Data.gov does NOT include data sets from all government agencies. For a list of included agencies, click here

European Union Open Data Portal Unrestricted Resource
Open data repository of the European Union; contains a wealth of data on subjects including business and economics, energy and the environment, and labor and social issues. 

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Unrestricted Resource openURL
 The statistics division of FAO contains information on 245 countries and 35 regional areas from 1961 to most current year available. 

FRASER Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
"The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research is a project by the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis to expand on its mission to provide economic information and data to researchers interested in the U.S. economy. On this web site you will find links to scanned images ... of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents."

FRED Economic Research Unrestricted Resource
This website offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data. The research division of FRED (Federal Reserve Bank of St.Louis) is responsible for advising the Bank president on matters of economic policy. The division monitors the economic and financial literature and produces research in the areas of money and banking, macroeconomics, and international and regional economics.

Gallup Unrestricted Resource
Gallup employs many of the world's leading scientists in management, economics, psychology, and sociology, and our consultants assist leaders in identifying and monitoring behavioral economic indicators worldwide.

Industry Statistics Portal Unrestricted Resource
Business data from the U.S. Census Bureau that is searchable using keywords or the 2012 North American Industry Classification System (NAISC) in addition to options to browse the industries included. 

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-CPS) Unrestricted Resource
"IPUMS-CPS is an integrated set of data from the March Current Population Survey (CPS), beginning in 1962 and continuing until the present. This harmonized dataset is also compatible with the data from the U.S. decennial censuses that are part of the IPUMS-USA. Researchers can take advantage of the relatively large sample size of IPUMS-USA at ten-year intervals and fill in information for the intervening years using IPUMS-CPS."

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-International) Unrestricted Resource
"IPUMS-International (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series, International) is the world's largest collection of publicly available individual-level census data. The data are samples from population censuses from around the world taken since 1960. Names and other identifying information have been removed. The variables have been given consistent codes and have been documented to enable cross-national and cross-temporal comparisons."

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA) Unrestricted Resource
"The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA) consists of more than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-present. Some of these samples have existed for years, and others were created specifically for this database. These samples, which draw on every surviving census from 1850-present, and the 2000-present ACS samples, collectively constitute our richest source of quantitative information on long-term changes in the American population."

International Monetary Fund (IMF) Unrestricted Resource
"The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available."

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Unrestricted Resource
NBER is a private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals.  Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies. NBER features a public-use data archive for downloadable datasets.

OECD Economic Surveys Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development publishes an Economic Survey every two years for Fourty countries, including the BRIICS.  It identifies the main economic challenges faced by the country and analyses policy options to meet them.

Penn World Tables 6.2 Unrestricted Resource
From the University of Toronto, "The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level." Data is available in multiple formats, including text, HTML, Excel, and SPSS.

Social Progress Index Unrestricted Resource openURL
A useful resource for examining inequality and society.  The Social Progress Index displays noneconomic measures to guage the well-being of a country's inhabitants.  Covering 133 countries with partial data on 28 more and 52 indicators that can be examined.

Statista Restricted Resource
Extensive database of statistics on (almost) any topic imaginable, drawn from thousands of sources. Also contains information about industries and individual companies and organizations. 

U.S. Census Bureau Unrestricted Resource
A rich source that includes statistics on population, housing, employment, income and poverty. Includes maps and geographic data, as well as American Factfinder, an interactive web site from which users may retrieve Census data for all available geographic locations and variables.

U.S. Census Bureau Economics Programs Unrestricted Resource
Includes a variety of economic data by including reports by sector and geography, as well as links to economics data from other federal agencies.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics Unrestricted Resource
Provides in-depth statistics on culture, education, science, and technology in more than 200 countries. 

United Nations Unrestricted Resource
Data, documents, committee reports, and informational essays on international law, peace and security, humanitarian crises, development, and issues of worldwide concern. Includes World Economic and Social Surveys and World Economic Situation and Prospects and other official UN publications.

World Bank Unrestricted Resource
"The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world...made up of two unique development institutions owned by 185 member countries—the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA)."