Additional Resources in Education
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janine Kuntz

Janine Kuntz
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Background Research
Educator's Reference Complete [Gale] Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Full text periodicals, reports and reference sources for teachers and school administrators. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.

Encyclopedia of African-American Education Restricted Resource
Covers "signifcant issues, policies, historical events, laws, theories, organizations, institutions, and people incident to the education of African-Americans in the United States." With selected bibliographies and index.

Encyclopedia of Special Education Restricted Resource
"A comprehensive resource for those working in the fields of special education research and practice. Featuring reviews of assessment instruments and teaching approaches, legal issues, overviews of specific learning disabilities, dozens of biographies, and more."

Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
"Topics covered include trends and developments, ethnic groups in historical and social science research, language issues, academic achievement, higher education, and international perspectives on multicultural education. The volume also offers comprehensive and balanced analyses of key controversies and debates in the field." Call Number: ​REF LC1099.3 .H35 2004. 

Historical Dictionary of American Education Restricted Resource Some full text available
"Provides factual information about eminent people and important topics related to the development of American public, private, and parochial schools, covering elementary and secondary levels. In addition to major state and regional leaders and reformers, it includes biographies of significant national educators, philosophers, psychologists, and writers. Subjects embrace important ideas, events, institutions, agencies, and pedagogical trends that profoundly shaped American policies and perceptions regarding education." Includes bibliographies and index.

Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development. Vol. 1: Basic Research Restricted Resource Some full text available
The first volume of this 2-volume set provides comprehensive coverage of the basic research relating to infant development.  

Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development. Vol. 2: Applied and Policy Issues Restricted Resource Some full text available
The second volume of this 2-volume set provides comprehensive coverage of the applied and policy issues relating to infant development. 
 
Research by Subject