Additional Resources in Education
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janine Kuntz

Janine Kuntz
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Gebbie Archives & Special Collections
Wheaton's Archives and Special Collections houses the college's archives, rare books, manuscripts, documents of unique value, and items that relate to Wheaton's rich history.

Collections include the Oral History Collection, the Historical Collection on Women, and the Wheaton Family Collection.

Contact the Archives for more information.
Data and Statistics
Data.gov Unrestricted Resource openURL
This government website contains a wealth of geospatial data and services.  You can look at their gallery or search for and download shapefiles and other data sources. Files include extensive metadata and details.

Institute of Education Sciences Unrestricted Resource
The US Department of Education's IES "brings rigorous and relevant research, evaluation and statistics to our nation's education system." IES includes the National Center for Education Research (NCER), the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), the National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance (NCEE), and the National Center for Special Education Research (NCSER).

KIDS COUNT Unrestricted Resource
KIDS COUNT, an initiative of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, is "a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the United States." Includes KIDS COUNT Data Center, with "more than 100 indicators of child well-being, including economic status, health, safety, and risk factors."

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Unrestricted Resource
"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education." The site provides access to data and data analysis tools, including for the Common Core of Data (CCD) and National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) programs.

Statista Restricted Resource
Extensive database of statistics on (almost) any topic imaginable, drawn from thousands of sources. Also contains information about industries and individual companies and organizations. 

U.S. Department of Education Unrestricted Resource
The US Department of Education's website includes reporting on educational initiatives; research, data, and facts about American schools; information about student financial aid; resources for parents; and information for educators, including lesson plans as well as grants and scholarships.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics Unrestricted Resource
Provides in-depth statistics on culture, education, science, and technology in more than 200 countries. 
Research by Subject