Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Core Databases
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) Restricted Resource
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. 

Historical Abstracts [EBSCO] Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (for U.S. and Canada historian, use America: History and Life); 1955 - present. 

Pascal & Francis Unrestricted Resource
Bibliographic database for sciences / technology (Pascal) and social sciences / humanities (Francis), compliled by the Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) of France, covering journal articles and conference proceedings. Formerly a subscription database, freely accessible since 2016. 1972-2015.

Persée Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Digital library of French-language scholarly periodicals, mostly in the humanities and social sciences. 

Repère Restricted Resource
Indexes and abstracts French language periodicals. Includes full text for over 190 periodicals. 1980 - present. Note: use VPN for off-campus access

Revues.org Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Portal for full-text (and mostly open access) French-language journals covering the humanities and social sciences.
Additional Databases
CAIRN.info Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Repository of articles/chapters from a growing number of journals and books in the humanities and social sciences published in France, Belgium, and Switzerland. In French. 

Note: A fee may be required for the full text of articles. Before paying, check the Wallace Library's Journal Finder to see if you can access the article through a different service; also consider an interlibrary loan request


Humanities Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO] Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Indexes journals in the disciplines of archaeology and classical studies, art, folklore, history, language and literature, literary criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes scholarly journal articles on the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400 - 1700 A.D.).

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Full text backfiles of over 2,500 core scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To help you navigate and search JSTOR, check their helpful how-to guide (PDF). 

Note: JSTOR includes 16 current titles, but for all others, JSTOR does not contain the most recent 1-7 years of content. Many of these titles are continued in the Library's print and/or electronic subscriptions, however. Check the Journal Finder for complete holdings information.



PAIS International and PAIS Archive Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes materials relating to political, social, and public policy issues. Citations include journal articles, books, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, and government documents; a ProQuest database; 1914 - present. 

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text current and archival articles from 670+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. The Library's subscription also includes over 7,000 e-books. Updated continually.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes journals, dissertations, conference papers, and selected books in sociology and related disciplines. A ProQuest database; 1952 to present.