Tel: (508) 286 3924
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files
Language and LiteratureBibliographie der Deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
The major bibliography for German language and literature. Indexes journal articles, books, chapters in books, etc. In German.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore, including journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings. A ProQuest database ProQuest; 1926 to present.
History and SocietyJahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte
Provides a comprehensive bibliography of books, book chapters, and articles on German history and related fields in both German and other languages. 1949-present.
Historical Abstracts [EBSCO]
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (for U.S. and Canada historian, use America: History and Life); 1955 - present.
Indexes journals in the disciplines of archaeology and classical studies, art, folklore, history, language and literature, literary criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
Indexes scholarly journal articles on the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400 - 1700 A.D.).
Full-text current and archival articles from 670+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. The Library's subscription also includes over 7,000 e-books. Updated continually.
Social Sciences Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO]
Indexes articles and book reviews in some of the key international English language journals in the social sciences, for example: anthropology, area studies, economics, political science, psychology, sociology; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.
Indexes journals, dissertations, conference papers, and selected books in sociology and related disciplines. A ProQuest database; 1952 to present.
Journal RepositoriesThe following repositories include digital editions of periodicals in German and/or about German-speaking Europe:
Provides text and images from the back issues of over 100 periodicals in economics, English languages, geology, Germanic languages, history, law, librarianship, philology, Romance languages, the sciences, and sociology. (Mostly in German.)
Full text backfiles of over 2,500 core scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To help you navigate and search JSTOR, check their helpful how-to guide (PDF).
Note: JSTOR includes 16 current titles, but for all others, JSTOR does not contain the most recent 1-7 years of content. Many of these titles are continued in the Library's print and/or electronic subscriptions, however. Check the Journal Finder for complete holdings information.
Social Science Open Access Repository (SSOAR)
Database containing over 48,000 open-access social science articles and papers.
Major Scholarly Periodicals in German Studies available at Wheaton
- German History
- German Life and Letters
- The German Quarterly
- German Studies Review
- New German Critique
- Oxford German Studies
- Women in German Yearbook
For newspapers and magazines, check our guide to German texts and primary sources.