Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Handbooks & Encyclopedias

Reference Sources in English

Modern Germany: An Encyclopedia of History, People, and Culture, 1871-1990 Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Two-volume encyclopedia covering German history, society, and culture between the country's first and second unifications. Some of the entries are relatively short, while others provide overviews of substantial length.  Call Number: ​Ref. DD14 .M64 1998


Encyclopedia of the Third Reich Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia providing entries on political, social, and cultural aspects of Nazi Germany as well as on individual personalities.  Call Number: ​Ref. DD256.5 .G76313 1991

Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Thorough treatment of German literature by (mostly) women authors. Call Number: Ref. PT41 .F46 1997.  

Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory Unrestricted Resource
Authoritative and accessible guide to modern ideas in the broad interdisciplinary fields of cultural and critical theory that have developed from interactions among different modern traditions of thought. Call Number: ​Ref. HM101 .D527 1996.

Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides brief overviews of key concepts, theories, and writers in the field of Cultural Studies. 2004. 

 

Nachschlagewerke in deutscher Sprache 

Deutsche Biographie Unrestricted Resource
Comprehensive biographical encyclopedia of the German-speaking world, containing entries on more than 130,000 people. Based on the volumes of the Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (pub. 1875-1912) and the Neue Deutsche Biographie (pub. 1953-present), the online version also provides links to additional resources, including bibliographies and primary sources. In German. 

Handwörterbuch des politischen Systems der Bundesrepublik Deutschland Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Online version of the standard handbook on German politics and the German constitution. Based on the 7th edition (2013). In German. 

Fischer Weltalmanach Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive information about politics, demographics, society, etc. in all of the world's countries. In German. 
Dictionaries

Monolingual Dictionaries

Deutsches Wörterbuch von Jacob Grimm und Wilhelm Grimm Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Online version of the largest dictionary of the German language. 

Duden 
Website of the Duden Wörterbuch, the most prestigious publisher of dictionaries of German. It contains an online version of the company's dictionaries. 

 

Bilingual Dictionaries

Collins German Dictionary Restricted Resource
Comprehensive German-English dictionary with more than 100,000 entries. 

Oxford-Duden German Dictionary Restricted Resource
With 300,000+ entries and 500,000+ translations, Oxford-Duden is one of the most comprehensive and well-regarded German-English dictionaries available. Call Number: ​Ref. PF3640 .O94 2005. 

Foreign Language Business Dictionaries Restricted Resource Some full text available

Cover of Business French DictionaryCover of Business German DictionaryCover of Business Spanish Dictionary

From Peter Collin Publishing, these dictionaries provide specialized business vocabulary in French, German, and Spanish.

Websites
Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Website of the German Federal Agency for Civic Education, which provides extensive learning resources on German (and European) politics, history, society, and culture. Its multimedia dossiers are particularly noteworthy, as is its series of short studies Informationen zur politischen Bildung. In German. 


Tatsachen über Deutschland Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Information about contemporary Germany in several languages, presented in a hybrid website/encyclopedia format. Jointly curated by the Frankfurter Societäts-Medien GmbH, a publishing house, and the German Foreign Office. 


LEMO: Lebendiges Museum Online Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Extensive website offering an online "museum" of German history, developed by the German Bundesarchiv (Federal Archives), the German Historical Museum, and the House of the History of the Federal Republic of Germany. Includes expository essays, images, eyewitness statements, audiovisual material, and primary sources.