Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

All Items by Source

Digital Libraries and Collections

German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) Some full text available Resource contains images
A comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery. GHDI is an initiative of the German Historical Institute, Washington, D.C.
Zentrales Verzeichnis Digitalisierter Drucke
Union catalog of printed works from the fifteenth century to the presented that have been digitized by libraries in Germany. Contains more than 1.4 million records. 
Europeana Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
 "Explore millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, tv and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings, they're all here."
HathiTrust Digital Library Some full text available
Digital library created from the collections of major research libraries in the United States and around the world. Items range from medieval Arabic manuscripts to early modern European incunabula, from colonial American pamphlets to 19th-century treatises on natural history. Although a part of the collection is only accessible to members of participating/contributing institutions, many materials (particularly those no longer in copyright) are freely accessible.
World Digital Library (WDL) Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world. The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures." 
Europeana 1914-1918 Some full text available Resource contains images
A subset of the EU's extensive Europeana digital library, this site is dedicated specifically to World War I. Of particular note is the site's idea to crowdsource materials, thus providing access to personal as well as institutional artifacts and primary sources. 

News

German Language News and Magazines
Compiled by the MIT Libraries, links to over 75 major newspapers and magazines published in German.
German Newspapers and Other News Sources
Extensive list of links to German-language news resources. From the German Studies Web site, compiled by the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. 

Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

Austrian Newspapers Online Some full text available
Over 450 Austrian newspapers published from the 18th to the 20th centuries. Produced by the Österreichische Nationalbibliothek. In German.
Wissenschaftliche Rezensionsorgane und Literaturzeitschriften des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts aus dem deutschen Sprachraum Some full text available
Full text of over 160 periodicals published in the 18th and 19th centuries. From Bielefeld University. In German.
ZEPHYS Some full text available Resource contains images
Extensive database of digitized collections of historic newspapers from Germany. Both scanned images and searchable fulltext are often available. Mainly in German, but with English instructions. 
Feldzeitungen aus dem 1. Weltkrieg Some full text available
Digitized by the University of Heidelberg, a collection of 20 newspapers published for German soldiers at the front during WWI. In German.
Compact Memory Some full text available
Contains actual reproductions of the most important research journals for German-Jewish history, covering the entire German-speaking world and published from the 19th century until the Nazi rise to power in 1933. In German.
Exilpresse Digital Some full text available
A collection of 31 German exile magazines and newspapers from 1933-1945 including some Jewish publications. Produced by the German National Library (Deutsche Nationalbibliothek) from collections in the German Library in Frankfurt am Main. Mostly in German, but some articles are in English and/or Spanish.

Websites

Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
"The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to resources in medieval studies. The Labyrinth’s easy-to-use links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images around the world. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne’s thread through the maze of information on the Web."