Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

All Items by Source

Digital Libraries and Collections

Art, Llengua Societat i Cultura Catalanes
A collection of over 290 digitized journals published between the 1760's and the 1960's. From the Biblioteca de Catalunya. In Catalan.  
Biblioteca Virtual de Patrimonio Bibliográfico Some full text available
Digital library of historic Spanish manuscripts.
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes is a Spanish initiative which aims to digitize the bibliographic and documentary heritage from Spain and Latin America. The portal gives free access to catalogs of digitized literary works in Spanish, both historical and contemporary, alongside visual and audio archives, facsimile reproductions and digitized holdings from public and private archives in Spain and Latin America.
Early Americas Digital Archive
EADA is a collection of electronic texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820, published by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities.
Europeana Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
 "Explore millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, tv and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings, they're all here."
HathiTrust Digital Library Some full text available
Digital library created from the collections of major research libraries in the United States and around the world. Items range from medieval Arabic manuscripts to early modern European incunabula, from colonial American pamphlets to 19th-century treatises on natural history. Although a part of the collection is only accessible to members of participating/contributing institutions, many materials (particularly those no longer in copyright) are freely accessible.
Latin American Open Archives Portal
The Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP) is a project of the Latin American Research Resources Project, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents and other difficult to access materials from the "deep web".
Parallel Histories, Spain, the United States and the American Frontier
This site "is a bilingual, multi-format English-Spanish digital library site that explores the interactions between Spain and the United States in America from the fifteenth to the early nineteenth centuries."
World Digital Library (WDL) Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world. The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures." 

Data and Statistics

UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Provides in-depth statistics on culture, education, science, and technology in more than 200 countries. 

News

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text database of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People. A ProQuest database, 1959 - present.
EUfeeds
News feeds from 300 European newspapers, organized by country.
Foreign Language News & Newspapers: Spanish
A collection of links to Spanish periodicals, arranged alphabetically, created and maintained at MIT.
Latin American & Mexican Online News
Extensive list of news websites from Central and South America and the Caribbean, curated at the University of Texas at San Antonio. 

Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de México Some full text available
Extensive digital library of historical newspapers and periodicals of Mexico, from the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). 1722- 
Historical Worldwide Newspapers Online: Latin America
List of links to historical news sources from Latin America, curated by librarians at Bowling Green State University.