Tel: (508) 286 3924
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files
- Companion to Hispanic Studies
Concise general overview of the major trends in Hispanic Studies scholarship, covering both Spain and the Americas.
- Guide to Latin American Studies
Covering all aspects of Latin American culture, history, social issues, and politics, this guide presents a concise overview of the major trends in scholarship about Latin America.
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature
Surveys Latino literature from the colonial era to the present.
- Concise Encylopedia of Latin American Literature
As the title suggests, this reference work provides brief overviews of the literature of various Latin American countries, short biographies of individual writers, and concise discussions of major themes in Latin American literature.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
Solid overview of the major authors, major works, literary magazines, and cultural movements in twentieth-century Latin America and the Caribbean.
- Hispanic American Religious Cultures
Extensive encyclopedia outlining religious customs, institutions, and experiences of Hispanic Americans, from the introduction of Roman Catholicism to the Americas in the late 15th century to the present.
Also check these more general/theoretical reference works:
- Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory
Authoritative and accessible guide to modern ideas in the broad interdisciplinary fields of cultural and critical theory that have developed from interactions among different modern traditions of thought. Call Number: Ref. HM101 .D527 1996.
- Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies
Provides brief overviews of key concepts, theories, and writers in the field of Cultural Studies. 2004.
History, Society, and Politics
- World History Encyclopedia
Sweeping encyclopedia of all aspects of world history from the very first human societies to the present, with more than 4,000 entries. 2011.
- Latinas in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia
This encyclopedia provides brief biographical sketches of significant latina women in U.S. history.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures: The Civilizations of Mexico and Central America
Comprehensive, three-volume encyclopedia that covers all aspects of the cultural history of Central America from pre-Columbian days to the modern era. Call No.: Ref. F1218.6 .O95 2001
- Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture
Comprehensive reference work on Mexican history from the pre-Columbian era to the present.
Additional Reference Sources
Additional overview information can be found in
- Credo Reference
Digital library of over 700 cross-searchable reference books in a wide variety of disciplines. A great starting point for your research that also leads you right to the library catalog and other databases.
Collaboratively built general-purpose encyclopedia, unmatched in its breadth (the English-language version alone now boasts well over 3 million articles), but potentially not always representing the most reliable or state-of-the-art points of view. Available in a multitude of languages (including all taught at Wheaton). Also a great resource for visual sources.
Comprehensive Spanish-English dictionary with over 100,000 entries.
Oxford Spanish Dictionary Ref. PC4640 .O94 2003
Extensive Spanish-English dictionary with over 300,000 entries in both European and Latin American Spanish.
Real Academica Española (RAE)
Website of the Royal Spanish Academy, the official regulatory body defining proper words and grammar in the (European) Spanish language. The site provides access to online editions of several of the academy's dictionaries and grammars.
Foreign Language Business Dictionaries