HELIN Catalog
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

About this Guide
This guide presents some resources for the understanding of and study of 
International Human Rights. Starting with the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights, proclaimed on December 10, 1948, as a reaction to the horrors of WWII, and continuing to current world wide efforts.
Core Resources
CQ Researcher Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
CQ Researcher contains in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.  1991 - present.. 

PAIS International and PAIS Archive Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes materials relating to political, social, and public policy issues. Citations include journal articles, books, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, and government documents; a ProQuest database; 1914 - present. 

Social Science Open Access Repository (SSOAR) Unrestricted Resource
Database containing over 48,000 open-access social science articles and papers.

Social Sciences Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO] Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes articles and book reviews in some of the key international English language journals in the social sciences, for example: anthropology, area studies, economics, political science, psychology, sociology; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.
Primary Sources
Universal Declaration of Human Rights Unrestricted Resource
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) is a milestone document, drafted by representatives with different legal and cultural backgrounds from all regions of the world, the Declaration was proclaimed by the United Nations General Assembly in Paris on 10 December 1948. I was a common standard of achievements for all peoples and all nations and sets out, for the first time, fundamental human rights to be universally protected.


U.S. Department of State Country Reports on Human Rights Practices Unrestricted Resource
Submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress, "a full and complete report regarding the status of internationally recognized human rights...The reports cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights."


Social Progress Index Unrestricted Resource openURL
A useful resource for examining inequality and society.  The Social Progress Index displays noneconomic measures to guage the well-being of a country's inhabitants.  Covering 133 countries with partial data on 28 more and 52 indicators that can be examined.
Organizations
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights -OHCHR Unrestricted Resource
OHCHR represents the world's commitment to universal ideals of human dignity. We have a unique mandate from the international community to promote and protect all human rights.


Amnesty International Unrestricted Resource
Amnesty International is a global movement of people fighting injustice and promoting human rights.

Facing History and Ourselves Unrestricted Resource
Facing History and Ourselves is an educational non-profit that advocates and provides resources for teaching about prejudice, racism, genocide, and social injustice, from both a contemporary and a historical perspective. The program originated as a Holocaust education effort but has since expanded to include many other areas. Its website offers a weath of lesson plans, learning objects, and other educator resources.

 
Research by Subject