Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Core Databases
Music Index [EBSCO] Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes material relevant to classical and popular music and musicology. Includes articles, book and record reviews, first performances, and obituaries; 1973 - present. Note: Earlier coverage (1949-1972) is available in the print edition, located in the compact shelving area in the stacks. 

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Reference Indexes [at the end of periodicals compact shelving in the stacks] Restricted Resource openURL
Comprehensive index of music literature, broadly understood, including articles, books, festschriften, and even drawings. 1967-1999.

Bibliographie des Musikschrifttums Online (BMS) Unrestricted Resource
Comprehensive index of music literature covering up to 2,500 books and serials and up to 10,000 journal articles, book chapters, and reviews per year. The search interface is in German, but the indexed content is multilingual. 1950-1975 & 1988-present. 

Humanities Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO] Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Indexes journals in the disciplines of archaeology and classical studies, art, folklore, history, language and literature, literary criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.
 
Additional Resources
Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) Unrestricted Resource
"The Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) is an index of articles from Canadian music periodicals. ... The CMPI database includes over 37,000 entries on articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day. Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented here, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed. The CMPI database focusses on articles and news items touching on various aspects of music in Canada. In addition, since 1999, significant articles published in Canadian periodicals about international music and musicians have been added to the index." 

Please note that CMPI does not contain full text of the articles listed there, nor does it contain direct links to those articles. To see whether you have access to an article of interest at Wheaton, please check the Journal Finder, request the article through interlibrary loan, or speak to a librarian.


Musikanalyse Unrestricted Resource
This crowd-sourced online database is meant to collect bibliographic and discographic information about specific "musical works of any epoch and genre." In German and English.

ViFa Musik Unrestricted Resource
Housed in Germany (but also available in an English version), this site provides links to bibliographies and digital libraries in music scholarship. 

ROJARO (Rock, Jazz, Roots Index) Unrestricted Resource
This index contains references to articles, discographies, reviews published in the music press (including fanzines). 1992-present.

Metal Studies - A Bibliography Unrestricted Resource
Originally compiled by Fabien Hein and Keith Kahn-Harris, and continued by Brian Hickam and the International Society for Metal Music Studies, this partially crowd-sourced bibliography of works on metal music is a one-of-a-kind resource that contains both scholarly work and journalistic or fan reviews.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Full text backfiles of over 2,500 core scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To help you navigate and search JSTOR, check their helpful how-to guide (PDF). 

Note: JSTOR includes 16 current titles, but for all others, JSTOR does not contain the most recent 1-7 years of content. Many of these titles are continued in the Library's print and/or electronic subscriptions, however. Check the Journal Finder for complete holdings information.


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text current and archival articles from 670+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. The Library's subscription also includes over 7,000 e-books. Updated continually.
 

For reviews, also check:

  • Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
    Indexes and abstracts articles on subjects such as agriculture, anthropology, arts, business, communications, economics, law, political science, psychology, religion, general sciences, and current events. Includes many full text articles or links to full text; 1980 - present. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
     
  • LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
    Indexes and abstracts U.S. and foreign newspapers, journals, transcripts, federal and state case law, law reviews, state and country profiles, company information and more. Many documents are in full text; dates of coverage vary.
     
  • News publications (current and historical) available from Wallace Library's Guide to News Sources