Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Find Print Materials at Wheaton
HELIN Catalog
‚ÄčTo find books and e-books, audiovisual materials, board games, and other items held by the Wallace Library or our partners in the HELIN consortium, search the catalog: 

Advanced Search



Sound Recordings at Wheaton
Search Wheaton's library catalog for sound recordings:
 
To search for sound recordings beyond Wheaton, adjust the limiters on the lefthand sidebar of the results screen.
Find Scores Online
IPA Source Restricted Resource
International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.


Aria Database
"The Aria Database is a collection of information about opera and operatic arias. Besides providing basic information about each aria, the Database includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions. ... [T]he Database holds information on the complete operatic aria collections of Mozart, Verdi, Berlioz, Wagner, and Puccini as well as the partial collections of over 50 other composers."  Note: As of September 2013, the database is no longer being updated.  

Schubertline
Instant printed sheet music of lieder, songs and arias - view, play and print in any key. 

International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
The International Music Score Library Project, also known as the Petrucci Music Library, is a repository of downloadable and printable public domain music scores.

Historic American Sheet Music
Digital collection of more than 3000 pieces from the mid-19th to the early 20th century, from the collections of the Duke University Libraries.

Sheet Music Consortium
Digital collection of sheet music from the holdings of several major research libraries. 

Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music (Johns Hopkins University)
Extensive collection of sheet music of American popular music from c. 1780 to c. 1980, with an emphasis on the 19th century. 

Early Music Online
Collection of music anthologies from the sixteenth century held at the British Library.
Additional Resources of Note
Themefinder
Database cataloging musical themes of Renaissance, classical, and folk music. 

WhoSampled
It's hard to think about music without thinking about how music is influenced by, quotes or samples, or covers other pieces of music. This site allows users to contribute to a database that reveals, highlights, and discusses these connections in a variety of genres of music. Most entries include streaming audio/video of the track being discussed. 


Also check the Primary Sources in Music page.