Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource openURL
Encyclopedic coverage of musical subjects of all kinds including composers, performers, conductors, musical terms and forms, individual works, instruments and notations, venues, and genres. Electronic version of the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. Cross-searchable with the Encyclopedia of Popular Music

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Primarily (but not exclusively) biographical, 20-volume reference work covering the history of Western music.  Call Number: Ref. ​ML100 .N48

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The electronic version of Garland's Encyclopedia of World Music uses a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and complemented by an extensive index. Includes hundreds of audio examples. 

Encyclopedia of Popular Music Restricted Resource openURL
The electronic version of the Encyclopedia of Popular Music is a biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present, plus popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Cross-searchable with Oxford Music Online.

Credo Reference Music Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
This subset of encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries from the Credo Reference collection contains several important reference titles, including The Harvard Dictionary of Music, The Metropolitan Opera Encyclopedia, and The Faber Companion to 20th-Century Popular Music

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India Restricted Resource openURL
Traces the story of Indian music through 2,000 years of history. Entries cover forms of music from classical to film-originated, as well as dance styles, technical terms, instruments, and biographies of vocalists, musicologists, saint poets, gurus, composers, and instrumentalists. The work spans not only all regions of India, but also covers the music of the Subcontinent, including Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

B.R.A.H.M.S. Unrestricted Resource
Extensive online dictionary with biographies and work lists of contemporary composers. In French.
Dictionaries

General

Special topics

Foreign Languages

Additional Reference Sources
Internet Broadway Database (IBDB) Unrestricted Resource
IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.

Guide to Musical Theatre Unrestricted Resource
Relatively comprehensive site offering, in particular, synopses of popular musicals, operas, and operettas.