Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

About this Guide
This Research Guide is meant to provide a brief overview of resources on the History of the Middle East and North Africa available to students at Wheaton College's Madeleine Clark Wallace Library

In addition to this guide, you may also want to consult those on the History of Africa South of the Sahara and on the History of Asia and Oceania, as well as the general guide for History
 
Get an Overview of Your Topic
Encyclopedia of Islam Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Standard reference work on Islam and the Muslim world, written primarily (though not exclusively) by Western scholars. (The original edition dates to the early 20th century but has twice been thoroughly reviewed and revised.)  Call Number: Ref. ​DS37 .E523. 

New Encyclopedia of Islam Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Shorter but up-to-date reference work covering historical, cultural, and religious aspects of Islam.  Call Number: Ref. BP40 .G42 2001. 

Oxford Islamic Studies Online Restricted Resource openURL
Features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated as new content is commissioned and approved. Includes time lines, images, maps and primary source documents including two essential English-language interpretations of the Qur'an.

North Africa: A History from Antiquity to the Present Restricted Resource openURL
Concise narrative history of North Africa from the first civilizations to the early twenty-first century.  Call Number: DT167 .N39 2009
Find Articles
Index Islamicus Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. From the School of Oriental and African Studies in London. A ProQuest database, 1906 - present.

Historical Abstracts [EBSCO] Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (for U.S. and Canada historian, use America: History and Life); 1955 - present. 
Find Books
HELIN Catalog
​To find books and e-books, audiovisual materials, board games, and other items held by the Wallace Library or our partners in the HELIN consortium, search the catalog: 

Advanced Search

 

If you prefer to find books by browsing the stacks, you will find the most relevant ones in these sections: 
  • DR401-741: History of Turkey and the Ottoman Empire 
  • DS35.3-DS326: History of the Arab countries, Iran, and the Middle East more broadly. 
  • DT160-346: History of North Africa (incl. Sahara) 
 
Websites
Digital Islamic Humanities Project Unrestricted Resource
"The Digital Islamic Humanities Project is a research initiative of the Middle East Studies program at Brown University. This site contains a working bibliography, useful resources, a frequently updated blog, and information about ... conference[s]."