Additional Resources in Political Science
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janine Kuntz

Janine Kuntz
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Data and Statistics
AfroBarometer Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
"Afrobarometer is a pan-African, non-partisan research network that conducts public attitude surveys on democracy, governance, economic conditions, and related issues in more than 35 countries in Africa." 

American Factfinder Unrestricted Resource openURL
A comprehensive database of census data about the United States, drawing on a variety of Census Bureau surveys such as the decennial U.S. Census and the American Community Survey. Provides tables, data for download, and also allows for online mapping of census data.   

Association of Religion Data Archives Unrestricted Resource
ARDA allows you to interactively explore data on American and international religion using online features for generating national profiles, GIS maps, church membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, tables, charts, and other reports.

Bureau of Economic Analysis Unrestricted Resource
BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. Along with the Census Bureau and STAT-USA, BEA is part of the Department's Economics and Statistics Administration. BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public. BEA is one of the world's leading statistical agencies. Although it is a relatively small agency, BEA produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics that influence the decisions made by government officials, business people, households, and individuals. BEA's economic statistics, which provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy, are key ingredients in critical decisions affecting monetary policy, tax and budget projections, and business investment plans.

Eurobarometer Unrestricted Resource
Public opinion polls on various subjects conducted throughout the European Union; 1973-present.  Note: The raw data behind these polls is available at GESIS

European Union Open Data Portal Unrestricted Resource
Open data repository of the European Union; contains a wealth of data on subjects including business and economics, energy and the environment, and labor and social issues. 

FedStats Unrestricted Resource
Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capabilities to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.

Gallup Unrestricted Resource
Gallup employs many of the world's leading scientists in management, economics, psychology, and sociology, and our consultants assist leaders in identifying and monitoring behavioral economic indicators worldwide.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) Unrestricted Resource
"The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available."

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data Unrestricted Resource
Includes data and guides to a variety of topics in criminal justice, including delinquency, drugs and alcohol, and violence against women. NACJD is home to web sites two separately maintained programs: the Project for Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods and the Homicide Research Working Group. Access is free but requires the creation of an account.

NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Unrestricted Resource
Summaries of more than 200,000 criminal justice publications including: federal, state, and local government reports; books; research reports; journal articles; unpublished research -- often with links to full text. The NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

Penn World Tables 6.2 Unrestricted Resource
From the University of Toronto, "The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level." Data is available in multiple formats, including text, HTML, Excel, and SPSS.

Social Explorer Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Provides data visualization tools for (mainly U.S.) demographic data from 1790 onwards. 

Social Progress Index Unrestricted Resource openURL
A useful resource for examining inequality and society.  The Social Progress Index displays noneconomic measures to guage the well-being of a country's inhabitants.  Covering 133 countries with partial data on 28 more and 52 indicators that can be examined.

Statista Restricted Resource
Extensive database of statistics on (almost) any topic imaginable, drawn from thousands of sources. Also contains information about industries and individual companies and organizations. 

Statistical Abstract of the United States Unrestricted Resource
"The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations."

United Nations Unrestricted Resource
Data, documents, committee reports, and informational essays on international law, peace and security, humanitarian crises, development, and issues of worldwide concern. Includes World Economic and Social Surveys and World Economic Situation and Prospects and other official UN publications.

usa.gov Unrestricted Resource
The portal for government publications on the Web, including federal and state reports and statistical data.

U.S. Census Bureau Unrestricted Resource
A rich source that includes statistics on population, housing, employment, income and poverty. Includes maps and geographic data, as well as American Factfinder, an interactive web site from which users may retrieve Census data for all available geographic locations and variables.


U.S. Department of State Country Reports on Human Rights Practices Unrestricted Resource
Submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress, "a full and complete report regarding the status of internationally recognized human rights...The reports cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights."?

World Bank Unrestricted Resource
"The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world...made up of two unique development institutions owned by 185 member countries—the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA)."

World Health Organization Unrestricted Resource
"WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends." Includes data and reports on matters of world health, including The World Health Report.
Research by Subject