All Items by Source

PRIMARY SOURCES

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Some full text available
This database includes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. The database contains more than 32 million pages of text and over 205,000 individual volumes in all.
Project Gutenberg Some full text available
A collection of over 50,000 ebooks, primarily from the Western cultural tradition, including works of literature, science, philosophy, law, religion, history and art. 
Early English Books Online Some full text available
A digital collection of over 25,000 books in English published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America between 1473 and 1700. The books cover a wide range of content, including literature, philosophy, religion, politics, geography and science. 
Evans Early American Imprint Collection Some full text available
A digital collection of the entire collection of the American Antiquarian Society (AAS). A learned society and research library founded in 1812, the AAS is the third oldest historical organization in the United States. It preserves the largest single collection of printed source material relating to the history, literature, and culture of the first 250 years of what is now the United States, and holds copies of nearly two-thirds of all books, pamphlets, and broadsides known to have been printed in this country between 1640 and 1821. 
Gebbie Archives & Special Collections
The Marion B. Gebbie Archives & Special Collections, housed on the Archives level of Wallace Library, is home to a treasure trove of Wheaton-related archival papers and multimedia, as well as a wealth of special collection books, manuscripts, and realia. Wheaton's history as a women's seminary and then a women's college provides a special focus on women's studies for much of the collection.
Poetry Foundation
A useful source of poems, organized by category (subject), occasion, title or first line, plus criticism, news and biographies.  Start with "Poetry Tool" to find a poem using any of the above categories.  Searching by poet allows one to select geographic region, school, period, and more.
Women Writers Online Restricted Resource
Full text collection of over 375 early modern (1526-1850) texts by women. Founded at Brown University in the late 1980s, the WWP is now based at Northeastern University.
Dictionary of Old English Corpus Restricted Resource
Full text database of 3,047 Old English texts.
Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2004 [Gale] Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Indexing and full text of every page, including advertisements and images, in the Daily Mail, published in London since 1896 for the "middle class/middle market." Can be cross searched with the London Times, the Illustrated London News, and/or the Times Literary Supplement - select Gale NewsVault from the library's database A-Z list.
HathiTrust Digital Library Some full text available
Digital library created from the collections of major research libraries in the United States and around the world. Items range from medieval Arabic manuscripts to early modern European incunabula, from colonial American pamphlets to 19th-century treatises on natural history. Although a part of the collection is only accessible to members of participating/contributing institutions, many materials (particularly those no longer in copyright) are freely accessible.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003 [Gale] Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The complete contents of more than 150 years of social, political and cultural history published in the Illustrated London News. Areas covered include politics, social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, as well as genealogy. Can be cross searched with the London Times, the Daily Mail, and/or the Times Literary Supplement - select Gale NewsVault from the library's database A-Z list.
Literature Online (LION) Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
A collection of indexes, bibliographies, and full text literary and reference databases. Primary texts include English and American poetry, English fiction, and English and American drama, ranging from 600 to the early 20th century. Secondary sources include MLA International BibliographyLIFT (a literary journal index with some full text), ABELL (the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature), the King James Bible, biographical information for over 1,000 of the most studied authors, and over 380 full text literary journals.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Research by Subject