Additional Resources in Psychology
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janine Kuntz

Janine Kuntz
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Gebbie Archives & Special Collections
Wheaton's Archives and Special Collections houses the college's archives, rare books, manuscripts, documents of unique value, and items that relate to Wheaton's rich history.

Collections include the Oral History Collection, the Historical Collection on Women, and the Wheaton Family Collection. Psychology students may be particularly interested in the phrenology materials in the Lydia Folger Fowler M.D. Papers.

Contact the Archives for more information.
Background Research Resources
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) Wheaton Permanent Reserves
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM), published by the American Psychiatric Association, classifies and provides diagnostic criteria for mental disorders. 

Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences Restricted Resource
The concise entries in The Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences explore all areas of the discipline on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of neuroscience.

Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior Restricted Resource
Provides comprehensive coverage of the usual topics in animal behavior, such as communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, and the history of the field, plus emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior.

Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology Restricted Resource
The electronic version of the three-volume Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology.

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science Restricted Resource
A fully searchable collection of articles by scientists and historians with emphasis on the workings of the mind and brain.

Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy Restricted Resource
This electronic version of the Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy covers the major psychotherapies currently in practice as well as the classical approaches, identifies the scientific studies conducted on the efficacy of the therapies and reviews the theoretical basis of each therapy.

Handbook of Adolescent Psychology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers the current knowledge and cutting-edge philosophy regarding the transformative years of adolescent development.

Handbook of Social Psychology Restricted Resource Some full text available
The standard reference work in the field of social psychology, offering historical, integrative, and penetrating surveys of the topics that constitute the discipline. 

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences Restricted Resource
The online version of the 26-volume print set, contains 4,000 articles and is described as "..the largest corpus of knowledge about the social and behavioral sciences in existence..."

Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development. Vol. 1: Basic Research Restricted Resource Some full text available
The first volume of this 2-volume set provides comprehensive coverage of the basic research relating to infant development.  

Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development. Vol. 2: Applied and Policy Issues Restricted Resource Some full text available
The second volume of this 2-volume set provides comprehensive coverage of the applied and policy issues relating to infant development.