Subject Specialist
Picture: Janine Kuntz

Janine Kuntz
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Finding Books
If you’re not quite sure what you’re looking for, you can browse relevant areas in the library stacks. Try these call number ranges:

HQ74-74.2—Bisexuality
HQ75-76.8—Homosexuality. Lesbianism
HQ77-77.2—Transvestism
HQ77.7-77.95—Transexualism
HQ1075-1075.5—Sex role

You can also search the HELIN Catalog
​To find books and e-books, audiovisual materials, board games, and other items held by the Wallace Library or our partners in the HELIN consortium, search the catalog: 

Advanced Search

 

Instead of a keyword search, you may also want to try a search by subject (either use the subject field in the drop-down under "advanced search" or su:[subject term] in the general search bar). You can browse lists of subject headings at the Library of Congress Subject Headings site. Try the following:
  • Bisexuality
  • Coming out (sexual orientation)
  • Gays
  • Gender identity
  • Homosexuality
  • Lesbians
  • Queer theory
  • Sexual minorities
  • Transgender people
Recommended Books
To start, check some general or specialized reference works, for example: 

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender Restricted Resource
"The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality."

LGBT: Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America Restricted Resource Some full text available
Three-volume reference work on the history of LGBTQ people, culture, and politics in the United States. Call Number: Ref. ​HQ76.3 .U5E53 2004. 


In addition, the following theoretical introductions and anthologies may be good for a first approach to the topic(s): 

Beemyn, Genny, and Michele J. Eliason, eds. Queer Studies: A Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Anthology. New York: New York University Press, 1996.  HQ76.25 .Q383 1996.

Corber, Robert J., and Stephen M. Valocchi, eds. Queer Studies: An Interdisciplinary Reader. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 2003. HQ75.15 .Q48 2003

Jagose, Annemarie. Queer Theory: An Introduction. New York: New York University Press, 1996. HQ76.25 .J34 1996

Morland, Ian, and Annabelle Willox, eds. Queer Theory. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2005. HQ76.25 .Q3843 2005

Turner, William B. A Genealogy of Queer Theory. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2000. 

Finding Articles
Search for articles using keywords or subject headings. The following databases are particularly useful:

Gender Studies Database [EBSCO] Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes gender-engaged scholarship from professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. 1972 - present. 

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text database of material related to gender issues, with emphasis on women's studies. Includes books, newsletters, reports, newspapers, magazines and scholarly journal articles. A ProQuest database, publication dates vary from the 1970's, 1980's, or 1990's to present.

Alt-Press Watch Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses; a ProQuest database; publication dates vary from the 1970's - present.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index Unrestricted Resource
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Site is hosted by the University of Iowa Libraries. 1990 - present.

Social Sciences Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO] Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes articles and book reviews in some of the key international English language journals in the social sciences, for example: anthropology, area studies, economics, political science, psychology, sociology; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.

You can also browse the contents of the major journals in the field such as: 
Contexts (publication of American Sociology Association)
Feminist Formations
Feminist Studies
Gender and Society
GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies

Hypatia
Journal of the History of Sexuality

Journal of Homosexuality
Men and Masculinities
Sexualities
Sexuality Research and Social Policy

TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly
Internet Resources
Bibliographies and Awards 

Guide to Gay and Lesbian Studies 
From the New York Public Library, an extensive research guide and bibliography on the subject. 

GLBT Roundtable Professional Tools
Many comprehensive resources, including annotated bibliographies on a variety of topics.

Over the Rainbow Book List
Yearly annotated bibliography of the year's highest quality LGBTQ books for adults.

Stonewall Book Awards
Annual awards for LGBTQ fiction and nonfiction adult and children's books.

Primary Sources

Digital Transgender Archive (DTA)
Hosted at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA provides a portal to digital materials on transgender history, primarily before 2000. Transgender is broadly understood, i.e. as "a broad and inclusive range of non-normative gender practices ... than an identity category." 

LGBTQ History Digital Collaboratory
Portal for archives and special collections in Canada and the United States that house oral history collections documenting the LGBT experience. 

People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History
Part of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project at Fordham University, this extensive guide provides an overview of theoretical, political, and historical debates in LGBT Studies as well as links to an impressive collection of primary sources. 

ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives
Housed at the University of Southern California Libraries, ONE Archives bills itself as "the largest repository of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world." 

QZAP: Queer Zine Archive Project
DIY publications by queer people on queer topics. 

AdRespect
First created in 1996, this website (originally known as "The Commercial Closet") chronicles "over 4,000 LGBT themed ads from around the world going back to 1917, exploring the range of representations of gender and sexuality in print and television advertising. The material represents the best and worst of Madison Avenue's commercial messages, and everything in between."

LGBT Resources at the Library of Congress 
Compiled for LGBT Pride Month, this site at the Library of Congress brings together LC's varied collections relevant to LGBT history. 

Blogs

Bully Bloggers (Jack Halberstam's blog)
Contexts (publication of the American Sociological Association)
Gender and Society blog (official blog of the academic journal of the same name)
Social (In)Queery 
The Society Pages (especially Girl w/ Pen)

Other Websites of Interest 

LGBT Rights pages at the ACLU 
GLAAD 
Medline Plus Guide to LGBT Health (National Library of Medicine) 
Research by Subject