Subject Specialist
Picture: Kate Boylan

Kate Boylan
Director, Archives & Digital Initiatives
Tel: (508) 286 5821

Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Raw Texts for Analysis
Looking for raw text files for your text analysis project? Here are some places where you can either download a prepared raw text file or cut the text from a web page and paste it into a document of your own creation. 

Project Gutenberg Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of over 50,000 ebooks, primarily from the Western cultural tradition, including works of literature, science, philosophy, law, religion, history and art. 

Literature Online Texts Restricted Resource
This database contains a wide variety of texts, including poetry, drama and prose, published in Britain, the United States, Canada and the Caribbean from 600 CE to the present. Raw text can be cut from the webpage and pasted into a TXT file. 

Internet Archive Unrestricted Resource
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more. Many entries include easily accessible raw text.

Women Writers Online Restricted Resource
Full text collection of over 375 early modern (1526-1850) texts by women. Founded at Brown University in the late 1980s, the WWP is now based at Northeastern University.

HathiTrust Digital Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Digital library created from the collections of major research libraries in the United States and around the world. Items range from medieval Arabic manuscripts to early modern European incunabula, from colonial American pamphlets to 19th-century treatises on natural history. Although a part of the collection is only accessible to members of participating/contributing institutions, many materials (particularly those no longer in copyright) are freely accessible.


 
Art Works and Images
Below are some of the best places to find images of art works that are unrestricted by copyright. 

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Searchable database of over 1 million digital images and associated catalog data. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search and view images. To download images users must create an account. More information at Finding Images. You can find additional resources regarding image use and copyright by visiting this link, and find out more about how Artstor collections are used in The Artstor Blog.

Metropolitan Museum Collection Unrestricted Resource

The Metropolitain Museum of Art is one of the worlds leading art musuems. Their collectin represents 5,000 years of art from all over the world. You are welcome to use images of artworks in The Met collection that the Museum believes to be in the public domain, or those to which the Museum waives any copyright it might have, for any purpose, including commercial and noncommercial use, free of charge and without requiring permission from the Museum. To identify these images, look for the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) icon below the image.  For more information on using images fromt he Museum's collection, see their website.   


 
Digital Collections
Blue Mountain Project: Historic Avant-Garde Periodicals for Digital Research Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Digital collection of often rare European art, music, and culture periodicals from 1848 to c. 1923.

Digital Islamic Humanities Project Unrestricted Resource
"The Digital Islamic Humanities Project is a research initiative of the Middle East Studies program at Brown University. This site contains a working bibliography, useful resources, a frequently updated blog, and information about ... conference[s]." 


Digital Medieval Manuscripts Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
"A significant resource for the study of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance in Western Europe, [Harvard University's] Houghton Library's distinguished collection of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts make up a valuable primary source for the study of the literature, art, history, music, philosophy and theology of the periods. ... [T]he collection includes works in Latin, Greek and most of the vernacular languages of Europe. Digitized versions of many of the manuscripts are available, providing students and scholars with immediate and unmediated access to important texts and images." 


Digital Papyri Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
A digitized collection of (Greek) papyri dating to the third century BCE through the sixth century CE, from Harvard University's Houghton Library. Includes "strategies for searching Houghton's papyri as well as links to bibliographies related to these materials that were compiled by the Library." 


Digital Public Library of America [DPLA] Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Aggregates digital collections from various institutions across the United States and serves as both a simple search portal and as a development platform with which online exhibitions etc. can be built. 


Digital Scriptorium Unrestricted Resource
Digital Scriptorium is a consortium of American libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts. Their website unites scattered resources from many institutions into a national digital platform for teaching and scholarly research, allowing users to search the contents of many collection in one place. Many DS records also link out to the websites of our contributors, where users can discover further information.

Early Americas Digital Archive Unrestricted Resource
EADA is a collection of electronic texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820, published by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities.


Early English Books Online Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
A digital collection of over 25,000 books in English published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America between 1473 and 1700. The books cover a wide range of content, including literature, philosophy, religion, politics, geography and science. 

Europeana Unrestricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
 "Explore millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, tv and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings, they're all here."


Exilpresse Digital Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of 31 German exile magazines and newspapers from 1933-1945 including some Jewish publications. Produced by the German National Library (Deutsche Nationalbibliothek) from collections in the German Library in Frankfurt am Main. Mostly in German, but some articles are in English and/or Spanish.


Evans Early American Imprint Collection Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
A digital collection of the entire collection of the American Antiquarian Society (AAS). A learned society and research library founded in 1812, the AAS is the third oldest historical organization in the United States. It preserves the largest single collection of printed source material relating to the history, literature, and culture of the first 250 years of what is now the United States, and holds copies of nearly two-thirds of all books, pamphlets, and broadsides known to have been printed in this country between 1640 and 1821. 

Fundamental Digital Library of Russian Literature and Folklore Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
"A project instituted in 1995 by the Gorky Institute of World Literature and the Informregistr Center at the Russian Ministry for Communications, and online since July 2002, FEB-web is, first and foremost, a repository of Russian verbal art and the scholarly and other texts vital to understanding it. FEB-web makes the canon of Russian verbal art available free of charge to anyone with internet access. FEB-web is also a unique analytical tool with functional capabilities that allow researchers to approach Russian verbal art in a fundamentally new way. In assembling its collections, FEB-web sustains an unprecedented level of bibliographical and textological precision — these are texts the most demanding researchers can trust. The key concept that makes all this possible is The FEB-web Digital Scholarly Edition (DSE). Each DSE combines an exhaustive collection of primary texts with all the essential secondary literature and bibliographical works you need to do research on a given author, genre, or work."


Gallica Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The large and growing collection of digitized full texts and images of the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF).


HathiTrust Digital Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Digital library created from the collections of major research libraries in the United States and around the world. Items range from medieval Arabic manuscripts to early modern European incunabula, from colonial American pamphlets to 19th-century treatises on natural history. Although a part of the collection is only accessible to members of participating/contributing institutions, many materials (particularly those no longer in copyright) are freely accessible.


Perseus Digital Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Texts, images, datasets, encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries, reference works, and other primary materials in the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. Includes texts in Latin and/or Greek. 

 
Research by Subject