Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files
To find books and e-books, audiovisual materials, board games, and other items held by the Wallace Library or our partners in the HELIN consortium, search the catalog:
A brief overview of formatting and citing properly in ASA format, published by the American Sociological Association.
Online Writing Lab at Purdue: ASA Style
This resource covers American Sociological Association (ASA) style and includes information about manuscript formatting, in-text citations, formatting the references page, and accepted manuscript writing style. The bibliographical format described here is taken from the American Sociological Association (ASA) Style Guide, 4th edition.
Online Writing Lab at Purdue - APA Formatting and Style Guide
Concise guide to APA (American Psychological Association) Style from the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University.
Citation Management Guide
Full access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes smartphone and tablet apps for current Wheaton faculty, staff, and students. To create a new account, users must have a valid Wheaton email address, and be on campus and connected to the Wheaton network. Once an account is established, login at nytimes.com or download the app from iTunes® (you will need to use an existing account, or create a new one).
To renew your account click log in and sign in with your Wheaton email address and your existing New York Times password.
Includes access to New York Times articles published between 1851 through 1922, and between 1981 through current day. Access to the years 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per 24 hour period for group pass subscribers. [note: for any pre-2014 articles not available from nytimes.com use the Library’s subscription to the New York Times Historical from ProQuest]
Indexes journals, dissertations, conference papers, and selected books in sociology and related disciplines. A ProQuest database; 1952 to present.
Social Sciences Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO]
Indexes articles and book reviews in some of the key international English language journals in the social sciences, for example: anthropology, area studies, economics, political science, psychology, sociology; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Joint portal of semi-formal networks of researchers in the social sciences that provides access to a variety of e-journals as well as abstracts and full text of preprints and working papers via its eLibrary. Topics range from accounting to marketing, leadership to sustainability, and corporate governance to information systems.
Social Science Open Access Repository (SSOAR)
Database of open-access social science articles and papers.
Indexes and abstracts scientific, technical, medical, social sciences and some humanities literature and web resources. Includes citation tracking and links to full text articles. Early 1900's - present for some abstracts; 1996 - present for citation tracking.
Full text backfiles of over 2,500 core scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To help you navigate and search JSTOR, check their helpful how-to guide (PDF).
Note: JSTOR includes 16 current titles, but for all others, JSTOR does not contain the most recent 1-7 years of content. Many of these titles are continued in the Library's print and/or electronic subscriptions, however. Check the Journal Finder for complete holdings information.
Full-text current and archival articles from 670+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. The Library's subscription also includes over 7,000 e-books. Updated continually.
Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses; a ProQuest database; publication dates vary from the 1970's - present.
Civil Rights Digital Library
The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries . The CRDL provides educator resources and contextual materials, including Freedom on Film, relating instructive stories and discussion questions from the Civil Rights Movement in Georgia, and the New Georgia Encyclopedia, delivering engaging online articles and multimedia.
CQ Researcher Online
CQ Researcher contains in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy. 1991 - present..
Full text database of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People. A ProQuest database, 1959 - present.
Gender Studies Database [EBSCO]
Indexes gender-engaged scholarship from professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. 1972 - present.
Full text database of material related to gender issues, with emphasis on women's studies. Includes books, newsletters, reports, newspapers, magazines and scholarly journal articles. A ProQuest database, publication dates vary from the 1970's, 1980's, or 1990's to present.
Indexes and abstracts journal articles relating to the human impact on the environment in such disciplines as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Indexes and abstracts U.S. and foreign newspapers, journals, transcripts, federal and state case law, law reviews, state and country profiles, company information and more. Many documents are in full text; dates of coverage vary.
PAIS International and PAIS Archive
Indexes materials relating to political, social, and public policy issues. Citations include journal articles, books, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, and government documents; a ProQuest database; 1914 - present.
Social Services Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts research in social work, human services, social welfare and policy, and community development. A ProQuest database; 1979 to present.
Annual Review of Sociology, 1975-2006 (JSTOR)
The Annual Review of Sociology®, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields.
Annual Review of Sociology, 1996 - present (AR)
Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.