Subject Specialist
Picture: Janine Kuntz

Janine Kuntz
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Data and Statistics
American Community Survey Unrestricted Resource
From the US Census Bureau, this survey focuses on addresses rather than individuals.  It is designed to "show how people live," gathering data on the demographic, social, economic, and housing characteristics of communities.

American Factfinder Unrestricted Resource openURL
A comprehensive database of census data about the United States, drawing on a variety of Census Bureau surveys such as the decennial U.S. Census and the American Community Survey. Provides tables, data for download, and also allows for online mapping of census data.   

Association of Religion Data Archives Unrestricted Resource
ARDA allows you to interactively explore data on American and international religion using online features for generating national profiles, GIS maps, church membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, tables, charts, and other reports.

Current Population Survey Unrestricted Resource
The CPS is the primary source of information on the labor force characteristics of the U.S. population.  Estimates obtained from the CPS include employment, unemployment, earnings, hours of work, and other indicators. They are available by a variety of demographic characteristics including age, sex, race, marital status, and educational attainment. They are also available by occupation, industry, and class of worker.

FedStats Unrestricted Resource
Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capabilities to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.

Gallup Unrestricted Resource
Gallup employs many of the world's leading scientists in management, economics, psychology, and sociology, and our consultants assist leaders in identifying and monitoring behavioral economic indicators worldwide.

General Social Survey (GSS) Unrestricted Resource
The General Social Survey (GSS) conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor social change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations. Includes cumulative data files from 1972-2008.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA) Unrestricted Resource
"The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA) consists of more than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-present. Some of these samples have existed for years, and others were created specifically for this database. These samples, which draw on every surviving census from 1850-present, and the 2000-present ACS samples, collectively constitute our richest source of quantitative information on long-term changes in the American population."

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-International) Unrestricted Resource
"IPUMS-International (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series, International) is the world's largest collection of publicly available individual-level census data. The data are samples from population censuses from around the world taken since 1960. Names and other identifying information have been removed. The variables have been given consistent codes and have been documented to enable cross-national and cross-temporal comparisons."

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-CPS) Unrestricted Resource
"IPUMS-CPS is an integrated set of data from the March Current Population Survey (CPS), beginning in 1962 and continuing until the present. This harmonized dataset is also compatible with the data from the U.S. decennial censuses that are part of the IPUMS-USA. Researchers can take advantage of the relatively large sample size of IPUMS-USA at ten-year intervals and fill in information for the intervening years using IPUMS-CPS."

KIDS COUNT Unrestricted Resource
KIDS COUNT, an initiative of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, is "a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the United States." Includes KIDS COUNT Data Center, with "more than 100 indicators of child well-being, including economic status, health, safety, and risk factors."

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data Unrestricted Resource
Includes data and guides to a variety of topics in criminal justice, including delinquency, drugs and alcohol, and violence against women. NACJD is home to web sites two separately maintained programs: the Project for Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods and the Homicide Research Working Group. Access is free but requires the creation of an account.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Unrestricted Resource
"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education." The site provides access to data and data analysis tools, including for the Common Core of Data (CCD) and National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) programs.

NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Unrestricted Resource
Summaries of more than 200,000 criminal justice publications including: federal, state, and local government reports; books; research reports; journal articles; unpublished research -- often with links to full text. The NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

Social Explorer Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Provides data visualization tools for (mainly U.S.) demographic data from 1790 onwards. 

Social Progress Index Unrestricted Resource openURL
A useful resource for examining inequality and society.  The Social Progress Index displays noneconomic measures to guage the well-being of a country's inhabitants.  Covering 133 countries with partial data on 28 more and 52 indicators that can be examined.

Statista Restricted Resource
Extensive database of statistics on (almost) any topic imaginable, drawn from thousands of sources. Also contains information about industries and individual companies and organizations. 

Statistical Abstract of the United States Unrestricted Resource
"The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations."

U.S. Census Bureau Unrestricted Resource
A rich source that includes statistics on population, housing, employment, income and poverty. Includes maps and geographic data, as well as American Factfinder, an interactive web site from which users may retrieve Census data for all available geographic locations and variables.

U.S. Department of State Country Reports on Human Rights Practices Unrestricted Resource
Submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress, "a full and complete report regarding the status of internationally recognized human rights...The reports cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights."

UNESCO Institute for Statistics Unrestricted Resource
Provides in-depth statistics on culture, education, science, and technology in more than 200 countries. 

United Nations Unrestricted Resource
Data, documents, committee reports, and informational essays on international law, peace and security, humanitarian crises, development, and issues of worldwide concern. Includes World Economic and Social Surveys and World Economic Situation and Prospects and other official UN publications.

World Bank Unrestricted Resource
"The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world...made up of two unique development institutions owned by 185 member countries—the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA)."
Research by Subject