Subject Specialist
Picture: Janine Kuntz

Janine Kuntz
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Primary Sources
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
The most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.  Provides rich content in subjects such as advertising, agriculture, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, literature, the arts, and more. Series 1-5.

AdAccess Unrestricted Resource
Includes images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns.  From Duke University's Digital Collections.
Labor Resources
Emma Goldman Papers
Influential anarchist-feminist Emma Goldman was an early advocate for union organizing. Her papers include correspondence, speeches, essays, pamphlets, and newspaper accounts.

Labour Map
The British Columbia Labour Heritage Centre has developed an online map of places associated with the history of working people in the area.
Gebbie Archives & Special Collections
Wheaton's Archives and Special Collections houses the college's archives, rare books, manuscripts, documents of unique value, and items that relate to Wheaton's rich history.

Collections include the Oral History Collection, the Historical Collection on Women, and the Wheaton Family Collection. Medical sociologists may be particularly interested in the Dr. Lenore Sportsman Miller Letters.


Contact the Archives for more information.
Research by Subject