Subject Specialist
Picture: Cary Gouldin

Cary Gouldin
Humanities Liaison
Tel: (508) 286 3924

Additional Theatre Resources
Scripts and Monologues
Newspapers
Citation
Related Research Guides
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Find Articles

Humanities Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO] Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Indexes journals in the disciplines of archaeology and classical studies, art, folklore, history, language and literature, literary criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Full text backfiles of over 2,500 core scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To help you navigate and search JSTOR, check their helpful how-to guide (PDF). 

Note: JSTOR includes 16 current titles, but for all others, JSTOR does not contain the most recent 1-7 years of content. Many of these titles are continued in the Library's print and/or electronic subscriptions, however. Check the Journal Finder for complete holdings information.



Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text current and archival articles from 660+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. The Library's subscription also includes over 7,000 e-books. Updated continually.

Art Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO] Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Indexes material in the fields of art, art history, architecture, design, and film, including articles in periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, and reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed journals; 1984 - present. Includes over 320 full text journals. For coverage of art literature from 1929 to 1984, search Art Index Retrospective.

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Indexes and abstracts articles on subjects such as agriculture, anthropology, arts, business, communications, economics, law, political science, psychology, religion, general sciences, and current events. Includes many full text articles or links to full text; 1980 - present. Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.

Literature Online (LION) Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
A collection of indexes, bibliographies, and full text literary and reference databases. Primary texts include English and American poetry, English fiction, and English and American drama, ranging from 600 to the early 20th century. Secondary sources include MLA International BibliographyLIFT (a literary journal index with some full text), ABELL (the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature), the King James Bible, biographical information for over 1,000 of the most studied authors, and over 380 full text literary journals.

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore, including journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings; via ProQuest; 1926 - present.

 
Find Books, Videos and more
HELIN Catalog Unrestricted Resource
‚ÄčTo find books and e-books, audiovisual materials, board games, and other items held by the Wallace Library or our partners in the HELIN consortium, search the catalog: 

Advanced Search

Reference Sources
These resources can give you a broad overview of topics related to your research question. Start your research here.

The Cambridge Guide to Theatre Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Offers a wealth of information on the history and present practice of theatre in all parts of the world. Written by a team of international experts, it clearly depicts the dynamic interaction of performance traditions from all cultures in present-day theatre. While saluting the history and traditions of 'high' art in the theatre, the Guide also celebrates the importance of 'low' art: the energy and animation that has infused popular theatre and popular entertainment for thousands of years.


International Dictionary of Theater
REF PN2035 .I49 1992
International and historical in scope, this reference includes nearly 1,500 entries and is divided into three volumes: Volume 1: Plays focuses on 600 of the world's most significant plays, with an authoritative essay on each play and more than 300 photographs. Volume 2: Playwrights contains biographical and bibliographical information and essays on 485 playwrights. Volume 3: Actors, Directors and Designers, features a capsule biography, bibliographic information, and descriptions of roles and theatre productions and on 300 entrants.

The Encyclopedia of World Theater
REF PN2035 .E52 1977
Encompassing the theatrical history and modern currents of all countries where theater has had significant impact, the Encyclopedia is exceptionally wide-ranging in its coverage and particularly strong on the abstract, literary, and design elements of theater. The book has been compiled with discernment and originality. The 2,000 entries are cross-reference and include many biographies of past and prsent playwrights, actors, directors, and designers. The index lists more than 5,000 play titles.

The Oxford Dictionary of Plays
REF PN1625 .P38 2005
Provides essential information on the 1,000 best-known, best-loved, and most important plays in world theatre. Each entry includes details of the title, author, date of writing, date of first performance, genre, setting, and composition of cast; there is also a summary of the play's plot, and a brief commentary. Around 80 major plays are treated in detail. Genres covered include: burlesque, comedy, farce, historical drama, kabuki, masque, melodrama, morality play, mystery play, No, romantic comedy, tragicomedy, satire, and tragedy.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Digital library of over 700 cross-searchable reference books in a wide variety of disciplines. A great starting point for your research that also leads you right to the library catalog and other databases.

Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online equivalent of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. Also includes articles not included in the print edition, the Merriam-Webster Dictionarythe Britannica Book of the Year, and an editorially selected directory of links.

Berg Fashion Library Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of content collections, including the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, e-books, e-journals, museum directory, reference works, images, and more. Browsable by time period (1600 to date) and by place.
Research by Subject