Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Resources at Wheaton and Beyond

Resources at Wheaton

Alliance (Wheaton's LGBTQIA student group) 
Counseling Center 
Safe Zone (SAIL) 
Sexual Assault Information and Resources 
SMART (Sexual Assault and Misconduct Resource Team) 
Wheaton College Statement on Sexual Identity 
 

Resources Beyond Wheaton 

Medline Plus Guide to LGBT Health (National Library of Medicine) 
Transgender Health Guide (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) 
Transgender Rights Portral/Resource Guide (GLAAD) 
Transgender Rights Resources (ACLU) 
National Center for Transgender Equality 
REFUGE RestroomsFind a gender inclusive restroom near you.
Books

Reference Sources 

The following encyclopedias provide good initial overview on various aspects of the topic: 
LGBT: Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America Restricted Resource Some full text available
Three-volume reference work on the history of LGBTQ people, culture, and politics in the United States. Call Number: Ref. ​HQ76.3 .U5E53 2004.  

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender Restricted Resource
"The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality."
 

Recommended Books 

For more in-depth information, these books, all available from the Wallace Library (either in print or online), are recommended starting points: 
Susan Stryker and Stephen Whittle, eds., The Transgender Studies Reader (New York: Routledge, 2006). 
Susan Stryker, Transgender History (Berkeley, Calif.: Seal Press, 2008). 
Jami K. Taylor and Donald P. Haider-Markel, eds., Transgender Rights and Politics: Groups, Issue Framing, and Policy Adoption (Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2014). 
Jackson Wright Shultz, Trans/Portraits: Voices from Transgender Communities (Hanover, N.H.: Dartmouth College Press, 2015). 
 

And More Books... 

Last but not least, find even more resources in the HELIN Catalog Unrestricted Resource
​To find books and e-books, audiovisual materials, board games, and other items held by the Wallace Library or our partners in the HELIN consortium, search the catalog: 

Advanced Search


 
Documentary Films

Note: This video will only work on campus. From off-campus, access Transgender Stories through this link

 

Also check: 

A State of Emergency: Advocating for Transgender People of Color
Presentation by Kevin Nadal at the 31st Annual Winter Roundtable on Cultural Psychology and Education at Columbia University, 2014.

Transgender, at War and in Love 
New York Times Op-Doc by Fiona Dawson, 2015. 

 
Websites
Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) Unrestricted Resource
Hosted at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA provides a portal to digital materials on transgender history, primarily before 2000. Transgender is broadly understood, i.e. as "a broad and inclusive range of non-normative gender practices ... than an identity category." 

LGBTQ History Digital Collaboratory Unrestricted Resource
Portal for archives and special collections in Canada and the United States that house oral history collections documenting the LGBT experience. 

People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Part of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project at Fordham University, this extensive guide provides an overview of theoretical, political, and historical debates in LGBT Studies as well as links to an impressive collection of primary sources. 
 
About This Guide
Transgender Pride Flag

the transgender flag: harvey milk plaza, castro, san francisco (2012), by Flickr user torbakhopper.

This guide provides an overview of library and other resources for trans* people and about trans* issues available to the Wheaton community. We are always open to adding pertinent resources, so please let us know if we missed anything. Thanks! 

Below, you will find information on where to find news and media coverage on trans* issues, recommended reference encyclopedias and introductory books, some tips on where to look for scholarly articles, as well as a selection of interesting websites and documentary films. Please also check out the more "practical" resources on the left-hand sidebar.  

A Note on Terminology: To the best of our ability, we have tried to follow the advice provided by GLAAD in its Transgender Glossary in choosing the terms used in this guide. 
 

Related Wallace Library Subject Guides:

Women's and Gender Studies 
Queer Studies 
News & Media Coverage

News Databases

For news coverage of issues facing trans* people, check both mainstream outlets such as the New York Times and alternative publications: 

New York Times [nytimes.com] Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Full access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes smartphone and tablet apps for current Wheaton faculty, staff, and students. To create a new account, users must have a valid Wheaton email address, and be on campus and connected to the Wheaton network. Once an account is established, login at nytimes.com or download the app from iTunes® (you will need to use an existing account, or create a new one).  

To renew your account click log in and sign in with your Wheaton email address and your existing New York Times password.

Includes access to New York Times articles published between 1851 through 1922, and between 1981 through current day. Access to the years 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per 24 hour period for group pass subscribers. [note: for any pre-2014 articles not available from nytimes.com use the Library’s subscription to the New York Times Historical from ProQuest] To search the Times' archives by date, try the Times Machine. View the pages as they originally appeared, and save articles and images as a PDF.

 

Alt-Press Watch Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses; a ProQuest database; publication dates vary from the 1970's - present.

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text database of material related to gender issues, with emphasis on women's studies. Includes books, newsletters, reports, newspapers, magazines and scholarly journal articles. A ProQuest database, publication dates vary from the 1970's, 1980's, or 1990's to present.
 

Some recent articles and op-eds of note: 

Richard A. Friedman, "How Changeable Is Gender?" New York Times, August 22, 2015. 
Jessica Bennett, "She? Ze? They? What's in a Gender Pronoun?" New York Times, January 30, 2016. 
Amanda Hess, "Who's They?" New York Times Magazine, March 29, 2016. 
Niraj Chokshi, "Boy Scouts, Reversing Century-Old Stance, Will Allow Transgender Boys," New York Times, January 30, 2017. 
Sheryl Gay Stolberg, "Bathroom Case Puts Transgender Student on National Stage," New York Times, February 23, 2017. 
Janet Mock, "Young People Get Trans Rights. It's Adults Who Don't," New York Times, February 23, 2017. 
Ria Tabacco Mar, "Trump Will Lose the Fight Over Bathrooms for Transgender Students," New York Times, February 23, 2017. 
Annie Murphy Paul, "Not from Venus, Not from Mars: What We Believe about Gender and Why It’s Often Wrong," Review of Testosterone Rex: Myths of Sex, Science, and Society, by Cordelia Fine, New York Times Book Review, February 23, 2017. 
Frank Bruni, "Two Consonants Walk Into a Bar...," New York Times, February 25, 2017. 
Claire Martin, "Going from Marginalized to Welcomed in the Workplace," New York Times, March 17, 2017. 

And, last but not least:

Writing and Speaking About Trans* Issues 

GLAAD has put together a helpful glossary of terms to use and not to use when writing about trans* people and trans* issues. They also offer a helpful Media Reference Guide, In Focus: Covering the Transgender Community
Scholarly Articles

Journals 

TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly Restricted Resource Some full text available
Published since 2014, TSQ "offers a high-profile venue for innovative research and scholarship that contest the objectification, pathologization, and exoticization of transgender lives. It publishes interdisciplinary work that explores the diversity of gender, sex, sexuality, embodiment, and identity in ways that have not been adequately addressed by feminist and queer scholarship. Its mission is to foster a vigorous conversation among scholars, artists, activists, and others that examines how 'transgender' comes into play as a category, a process, a social assemblage, an increasingly intelligible gender identity, an identifiable threat to gender normativity, and a rubric for understanding the variability and contingency of gender across time, space, and cultures."

Transgender Health 
Published since 2016, this journal bill itself as a "peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to addressing the healthcare needs of transgender individuals throughout the lifespan and identifying gaps in knowledge as well as priority areas where policy development and research are needed to achieve healthcare equity." ?

Also check some of the major journals in LGBT Studies more broadly, e.g., Journal of Homosexuality, Sexualities, Journal of the History of Sexuality, or GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
 

Databases 

There are still relatively few scholarly journals exclusively dedicated to trans* issues. To find scholarly articles on trans*-related topics, you should therefore search through more general databases such as the following: 

Gender Studies Database [EBSCO] Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes gender-engaged scholarship from professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. 1972 - present. 

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text database of material related to gender issues, with emphasis on women's studies. Includes books, newsletters, reports, newspapers, magazines and scholarly journal articles. A ProQuest database, publication dates vary from the 1970's, 1980's, or 1990's to present.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes journals, dissertations, conference papers, and selected books in sociology and related disciplines. A ProQuest database; 1952 to present. 

Social Sciences Full Text [H.W. Wilson / EBSCO] Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes articles and book reviews in some of the key international English language journals in the social sciences, for example: anthropology, area studies, economics, political science, psychology, sociology; includes over 320 full text journals; 1984 - present.

Social Services Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes and abstracts research in social work, human services, social welfare and policy, and community development. A ProQuest database; 1979 to present. 

PubMed Restricted Resource openURL
Comprehensive index to scholarship of life sciences and biomedicine. Compiled by the U.S. National Library of Medicine; links to subscription-based and free full text articles; 1950 - present.