Additional Resources in WGS
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janine Kuntz

Janine Kuntz
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Data and Statistics
General Social Survey (GSS) Unrestricted Resource
The General Social Survey (GSS) conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor social change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations. Includes cumulative data files from 1972-2008.

Social Explorer Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Provides data visualization tools for (mainly U.S.) demographic data from 1790 onwards. 

Social Progress Index Unrestricted Resource openURL
A useful resource for examining inequality and society.  The Social Progress Index displays noneconomic measures to guage the well-being of a country's inhabitants.  Covering 133 countries with partial data on 28 more and 52 indicators that can be examined.

Statista Restricted Resource
Extensive database of statistics on (almost) any topic imaginable, drawn from thousands of sources. Also contains information about industries and individual companies and organizations. 

Statistical Abstract of the United States Unrestricted Resource
"The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations."

U.S. Department of State Country Reports on Human Rights Practices Unrestricted Resource
Submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress, "a full and complete report regarding the status of internationally recognized human rights...The reports cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights."