Additional Resources in WGS
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janine Kuntz

Janine Kuntz
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: (508) 286 3222

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Websites
AdRespect Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains video
First created in 1996, this website (originally known as "The Commercial Closet") chronicles "over 4,000 LGBT themed ads from around the world going back to 1917, exploring the range of representations of gender and sexuality in print and television advertising. The material represents the best and worst of Madison Avenue's commercial messages, and everything in between."

Emma Goldman Papers Unrestricted Resource openURL
Emma Goldman (1869–1940) stands as a major figure in the history of American radicalism and feminism. An influential and well-known anarchist of her day, Goldman was an early advocate of free speech, birth control, women's equality and independence, and union organization. Her papers include correspondence, speeches, essays, pamphlets, and newspaper articles.

People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Part of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project at Fordham University, this extensive guide provides an overview of theoretical, political, and historical debates in LGBT Studies as well as links to an impressive collection of primary sources. 
Digital Libraries and Collections
African American Women Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Images and transcripts from three digital collections: Hannah Valentine and Lethe Jackson Slave Letters, 1837-1838; Vilet Lester Slave Letter, 1857; and Elizabeth Johnson Harris: Life Story, 1867-1923. From the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.

Discovering American Women's History Online Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
"This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s."

Women Working: Harvard Open Collections Unrestricted Resource
Focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.

Women Writers Online Restricted Resource
Full text collection of over 375 early modern (1526-1850) texts by women. Founded at Brown University in the late 1980s, the WWP is now based at Northeastern University.

Women's Travel Diaries Unrestricted Resource
The diaries in this digital collection were written by British and American women who documented their travels to places around the globe, including India, the West Indies, countries in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East, as well as around the United States. There are over 100 diaries of varying length, selected from the following archival collections at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University.
Primary Sources at Wheaton
Gebbie Archives & Special Collections
The Marion B. Gebbie Archives & Special Collections, housed on the Archives level of Wallace Library, is home to a treasure trove of Wheaton-related archival papers and multimedia, as well as a wealth of special collection books, manuscripts, and realia. Wheaton's history as a women's seminary and then a women's college provides a special focus on women's studies for much of the collection.
Historical Newspapers and Periodicals
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
The most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.  Provides rich content in subjects such as advertising, agriculture, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, literature, the arts, and more. Series 1-5.

Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003 [Gale] Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The complete contents of more than 150 years of social, political and cultural history published in the Illustrated London News. Areas covered include politics, social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, as well as genealogy. Can be cross searched with the London Times, the Daily Mail, and/or the Times Literary Supplement - select Gale NewsVault from the library's database A-Z list.