The Wallace Library staff is committed to providing access to all collections, services, and programs to all members of the Wheaton Community.
For immediate questions and support, please visit the Information and Circulation Desk on the Main Level or call (508) 286-8224 or email firstname.lastname@example.org. Library staff make all reasonable efforts to accommodate individuals with disabilities. If you have questions or suggestions about any of our services for people with disabilities, please contact Megan Brooks, Dean of Library Services, at (508) 286-3710. Our research and instruction librarians invite you to contact them at email@example.com to schedule a research consultation to learn about how to use the library or for help with a specific paper or project.
On this page
Physical Access to the Library
View the Campus Map for information about specific locations. View our Floor Plans for information about areas in the library.
The nearest accessible parking spaces to the Library are located:
- behind Balfour-Hood Campus Center (1 space, van accessible)
- in Lot 8 (several spaces, van accessible, located in the rear of the Science Center and adjacent to Haas Athletic Center)
The primary accessible entrance to the library is at the back of the building. From the Dimple, take the ramp on the right side of the library and follow the sidewalk around the back of the building. This entrance is near the Information Desk on the Periodicals Level. If you park in Lot 8, an accessible entrance in the rear of the Science Center provides access to the library through the Stacks Level.
Inside the Library
Access the Stacks, Periodicals, and Main Levels and First and Second Mezzanines using the public elevator, found in the stair tower on the south side of the building. For elevator access to:
- Archives & Special Collections, call Mark Armstrong, Archivist and Records Manager at (508) 286-3713 or inquire at the Information and Circulation Desk.
- Merrill Room, Clark Room, Fine Arts Oversize, or Writing Associates, inquire at the Information and Circulation Desk.
The Cole Room is inaccessible by elevator.
Accessible, gender-neutral restrooms are available in the stair tower, across from the elevator on each level.
An accessible campus telephone is located in the stair tower on the Stacks Level, under the stairs.
Service dogs are welcomed into the library in accordance with campus policy and law.
In the event of an emergency requiring evacuation of the building without use of the elevators, the Periodicals Level and the Stacks Level have emergency doors at ground level for immediate exit. If you are unable to evacuate the building on your own, you should wait in a designated rescue area, located by staircases, and away from any smoke and fire. While firefighters will check the building for those needing assistance, you can notify library staff as you are en route to a rescue area. This allows library staff to more quickly inform firefighters where patrons needing assistance are. If you have a cell phone, you may also call (508) 285-5380 to alert emergency personnel of your location through the Norton Fire Department’s emergency system.
Finding Library Materials
Obtaining Library Materials
Through the Library Catalog
Most physical library materials in Wheaton's collection may be placed on hold through the library catalog. Materials will be pulled by library staff and held at the Information and Circulation Desk on the Main Level for pickup. After you identify a title in the library catalog, choose “Place Hold” and login using your Wheaton credentials. Retrieval happens regularly through the day and materials are often available within a few hours. You will receive an email when the item is ready for pickup. For speedier access, visit the Information and Circulation Desk or call (508) 286-8224.
If you are an individual with a disability who would like to receive materials from the library stacks more quickly than requesting them through the catalog, you can go to the Information and Circulation Desk on the Main Level or call (508) 286-8224 during hours of operation with the titles you want and library staff will retrieve the items. At certain times there may be a short wait for book retrieval, based on location of the item or quantity of materials requested. If you'd like to designate someone to pick up your items for you, contact Maryann Geppner, Coordinator of Access Services, at (508) 286-3708.
Archives and Special Collections
A document delivery service is available to Wheaton students, faculty, and staff. The service provides scanned PDFs of articles from journals and chapters from books that Wheaton owns. Place these requests through Interlibrary Loan (opens in a new tab).
Borrow books, videos, CD's, and obtain journal articles from (almost) anywhere through WorldCat (opens in a new tab). To ensure scanned items are of a quality adequate for screen readers, please note this when you request the item. Library staff will attempt to locate and borrow large print, Braille, and audio editions of books if you request them.
The library subscribes to a wide variety of electronic books, journals, and media resources from a range of vendors. Most of their platforms have assistive features. The VPAT Repository (opens in a new tab), a volunteer-run effort by librarians, collects Voluntary Product Accessibility Templates indicating vendor compliance with Section 508 accessibility guidelines.
Computing Equipment: Software and Hardware
The library's Kurzweil machine is located in the Atrium on the Main Level near the front desk. You can also request a Kurzweil account for your own machine by contacting Autumn Grant, Associate Director for Accessibility Services, at (508) 286-8215.
The library's Optelec digital magnifier is located in the Atrium on the Main Level near the front desk.
Zeta Scanner and UScan Microform Scanner
The library has scanners capable of using optical character recognition to convert printed text or microforms into accessible PDFs. These scanners are located in the Atrium on the Main Level near the front desk.
The library has public Mac computers located in the Woolley Electronic Classroom on the Main Level. These computers have standard Mac accessibility features (opens in a new tab). The library has public Windows computers located in the Stacks Level Electronic Classroom on the Stacks Level. These computers have standard Windows 10 accessibility features (opens in a new tab).