The collections of the Wallace Library are varied and unique. We strive to provide resources that support current coursework and research as well as anticipated future needs. With new formats, technologies, and changes in access, we focus on selecting materials that are scholarly, authoritative and timely to sustain the curricular needs of our connected and foundational courses. Search the library catalog to find items in our collections. For help finding an item, please ask at the Information Desk in the Atrium on the library's Main Level, and we'll be happy to help you find what you're looking for.
We recognize that users will encounter offensive or harmful language in descriptions of the works in our collection. Please read our statement on harmful language in collections, cataloging and description.
Note: To access this Google Form, you'll need to provide your Wheaton wID and email password. You will receive your electronic reserves by email. To request electronic reserves, please complete the form above. For more information, please see:
- How to upload documents to onCourse
- How to back up and restore an OnCourse site
- How to share a file in Google Drive
- How to share a folder in Google Drive
On this page
Located on the Stacks Level, our general collection consists of the majority of our books and is organized by Library of Congress Subject Heading .
Our comprehensive fine arts collection is located on the First and Second Mezzanines of the Atrium and in the Clark Room between the First and Second mezzanines. This collection includes books on visual arts, architecture, sculpture, drawing, design, illustration, painting, print media, decorative arts and arts in general.
Our collection of books by Wheaton staff and alumni is located on the Main Level, near the front entrance, in the Scholars' Lab.
Our collection of books by Wheaton faculty, past and present, is also located on the Main Level near the front entrance in the Scholars' Lab.
Located on the Main Level near the front entrance, our collection of new books includes popular novels and other books that have been recently published.
Located in the Reference Reading Room on the Main Level, our print reference collection includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases and other reference works.
Our education curriculum collection is located on the Stacks Level at the end of the compact shelving. The collection is comprised of books, textbooks, teaching and curriculum guides, educational kits and other materials designed to use within the classroom and supports the works of our education majors.
For information about our special collections, please refer to the Gebbie Archives & Special Collections.
Our collection of current periodicals consists of approximately 100 active subscriptions. These and other print journals from 2000-present are located on the Periodicals Level, one level below the Main Level, where you'll also find comfortable seating and a relaxed ambience.
Journal issues from 1900-1999 are located in compact shelving on the Stacks Level.
Our collection of oversized periodicals are shelved in the stacks in a separate section after the "Z" call numbers. To find a specific title, refer to the library catalog for the call number.
Periodical Closed Storage
Journal issues from before 1900 and issues in fragile condition are held in closed storage. Ask for access at the Information Desk or submit a document delivery request to receive a copy of an article in one of these issues.
Microfilm and microfiche are located behind the compact shelving on the Stacks Level. The microform reader is next to the Information Desk on the Main Level, where staff will be happy to help you.
Music Scores and Audiovisual Materials
Our large collection of music scores is located on the Stacks Level. Circulating music scores are shelved outside the Music Seminar Room, while non-circulating scores are shelved inside it.
Music and spoken-word LP records, CDs and cassette tapes are also located outside of the Music Seminar Room on the Stacks Level. Ask at the Information Desk for assistance locating any needed materials.
Our large DVD collection is held in closed storage. Place a hold on a title through the library catalog or ask to browse the collection at the Information Desk.
Board Game Collection
Our collection of board games is located on the Main Level between the Reference Reading Room and the Woolley Electronic Classroom. Please feel free to browse, sit and play games or borrow them for up to 3 days.
Full-text electronic journals can be found both through the library catalog and through BrowZine . Download the BrowZine app on your phone or tablet to save titles to your shelf and get notified when new issues are released.
A free subscription to the New York Times is one of the perks of being part of the Wheaton community. While on campus, use your @wheatoncollege.edu email address to sign up , and then use the website or the app on any device, anywhere.
Other electronic newspaper collections can be found among our databases.
Our collection policy is used to develop our collections as the essential source of scholarly information for the Wheaton community. To best support the mission of the College, the Library selects resources that represent a variety of perspectives and align with the curriculum. If you have questions about our collection development policy, please contact Megan Brooks, Dean of Library Services. Want us to purchase an item? Fill out our Request a Purchase Form.
*Note: To access this Google Form, you'll need to enter your Wheaton email address and password.
If you have any questions about the form, please email email@example.com