Madeleine Clark Wallace Library: Public Health: Find News Stories

New York Times

Full access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes smartphone and tablet apps for current Wheaton faculty, staff, and students.

To create a new account, users must have a valid Wheaton email address, and be 1) on campus and connected to the Wheaton network or 2) logged into the Wheaton VPN. Once an account is established, login at nytimes.com or download the app.

To renew your account click log in and sign in with your Wheaton email address and your existing New York Times password. If you are off campus, you will have to log into the Wheaton VPN.

New York Times This link opens in a new window Full access to the Nytimes.com through their app or website. First time users need to create an account with your Wheaton email while on campus. For off campus registrstion/renewal, make sure to VPN to the Wheaton network. (Wheaton VPN access: https://wheatoncollege.edu/about-wheaton-college/offices-services/technology/networks-wheaton/vpn-instructions/)
New York Times: Historical Newspaper, 1851-2015 This link opens in a new window A searchable database of New York Times Articles from 1851-2015.

Public Health News Sources

Kaiser Family Foundation KFF provides news and other information on public health issues across the United States.
Shots: Health News from NPR Public health news from NPR.
The Nation's Health News from the American Public Health Association
US News Public Health news from US News and World Report.

Resources for U.S. News

50States.com A website with links to local and regional newspapers organized by state.
Associated Press The AP is a news agency that covers both US and International news.
CSPAN Provides public assess to the political process via television coverage of the US House and Senate, the Supreme Court, and the media.
NPR News Probably the most highly regarded news radio network in the United States, and arguably the best-staffed one. Transcripts, recordings, and live streaming of programs are available.
Reuters Reuters provides business, financial, national and international news to professionals, the world's media organizations, industry events and directly to consumers.

The Nation This link opens in a new window The Nation is the oldest continuously published weekly magazine in the United States, covering liberal political and cultural news, opinion, and analysis.The library has the complete archive of The Nation on microfilm, which you can access by submitting and interlibrary loan.
National Review This link opens in a new window A journal of news and opinion on national and international issues. Publishes articles, reviews of the arts, and editorials from a conservative standpoint. Numerous political cartoons appear throughout. The library has the complete archive of the Nation on microfilm, which you can access by submitting and interlibrary loan.
The New Republic This link opens in a new window The New Republic is an American magazine of commentary on politics, contemporary culture, and the arts. The library has the full archive of The New Republic on microfilm, which you can access through an interlibrary loan request.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Includes indexing plus full text articles, with limited images. From ProQuest, 1984 to present.

New England News Sources

Boston Globe This link opens in a new window

Sun Chronicle Community news paper serving towns in Southern Massachusetts, including Attleboro, Foxboro, Mansfield, Norfolk, North Attleboro, Norton, Plainville, Rehoboth, Seekonk, Taunton, and Wrentham. Issues from the past three months can be found in print in the library.
Wheaton Wire Available from 1985 to the present in print in the Gebbie Archives, Wallace Library. Click on this link for access to the most recent issues.